Gobi Aloo (Indian Style Cauliflower with Potatoes) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
Aloo Gobi is supposed to be dry! DO NOT eat it with rice. It is eaten with bread (roti or naan) so the consistency shouldn't be thin. I agree with other reviewers that adding coconut milk or extra liquids to make it less dry will make this an entirely different dish. I was surprised this recipe didn't call for onions. Definitely saute some onions with the garlic, cumin seeds and ginger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
Very good. I will make again. It is supposed to be dry. Aloo Gobi does not have a sauce. Last reviewer had a great suggestion to keep a small amount of water at the bottom of the pan to steam the vegetables.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by M. Goldman
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
It was good but not spectacular. The cauliflower did actually take 30 minutes to make it tender, so adjust your time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by M. Goldman

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Grand Isle, Louisiana, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
I've added some water to the dish as I found that it was too dry while cooking.May try it again someday.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
Usually I do not have much luck replicating the flavors I get in Indian restaurant dishes. This was the exception! It tasted authentic. The only problem I had with it is that the time in the recipe is not long enough to get the potatoes and cauliflower to cook thoroughly. I had to add time to it and as other reviewers mentioned additional water was necessary so the food would not bun. Next time I would cook or par cook the potatoes first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daniel den Hoed

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spijkenisse, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2009
Quite good, except that it's nearly impossible to cook this without the addition of water, it becomes far too dry! I had to add lots of water throughout the cooking process in order to get the potatoes and cauliflower to a soft consistency. The final product was dry (not curry-like), and tasted quite good. I'm going to have to get better garam masala, however!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mms09

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2009
Nice flavour, not too hot made with these measurements. It really is better with tomatoes added to simmer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brampton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2009
Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2009
Holy Cow this was good! I went a bit heavier than suggested on the oil and spices and threw in about a teaspoon of crushed red pepper flakes. Make sure you cook long enough for the cauliflower to be just a hair crisper than than the potatoes. Fantastic I say. I was pressed for time, so I served with purchased pitas intstead of making a naan--brushed with olive oil and heated in the oven. Served alongside some sliced, August-fresh, local tomatoes and this dish really rocked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by greenwellcm

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2009
After the cooking time stated in the recipe the potatoes and cauliflower were still too hard and the pan was very dry. I added a little water and put it back on the heat until they were tender. The flavor was very good and I will probably make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 133) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Chickpeas

See how to make garbanzo beans simmered with Indian spices.

Indian Vegetable Bhaji

A spicy Indian dry curry with potatoes, cauliflower, carrots, and peas.

Spicy Vegan Potato Curry

See how to make a spicy vegan curry with chickpeas and potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States