Gobi Aloo (Indian Style Cauliflower with Potatoes) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
Agree that this was delicious, but also that you need to almost double the spice. I added red chiles too and chopped up a few of the whole canned tomatoes in my cupboard. It's delicious. I'll make this again but with more chiles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy Bogaart

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Everett, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
We enjoyed this. I tweeked it just a bit by adding an onion to the spices and oil and cooking until translucent and adding about 2 cups of cubed eggplant with the potatoes and cauliflower. The cooking time was closer to 30 minutes to get the vegetables tender crisp. I added about 1/2 cup of water to keep them from burning. The result was the right consistency, not too wet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigShotsMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Long Beach, New York, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2010
I am only giving this 3 stars as it didn't really work for me. I am sure it is quite authentic, it just didn't suite my palette. I made as instructed (except followed one reviewers advice by adding a bit of water to help steam as I could tell it was going to be very dry.) It's very flavorful and good, but not really main course material. I guess that was my mistake. Still having a lot of fun trying all the various Indian dishes, thank you for the easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2010
I attempted to make this tonight, with the things I had on hand. I had most things, but no ginger paste or cilantro. It was still delicious! Now a staple for this college aged vegan. A side note-this dish really isn't supposed to have a gravy/sauce when made traditionally, so just add small amounts of water as needed for steaming, and you'll still be very happy with the result :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2010
this type of Indian dish is supposed to be dry. The solution is to make this as written, except for the cooking time, which is much to short, and eat it with chutney or raita, an Indian yoghurt dish. In most Indian dishes the salt is added at the end of the cooking period.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Melrose, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2010
delicious! I added a can of crushed tomatoes at the end (my fiance felt it was too dry-- though I like it both ways), and also added two dried chiles for a little extra kick. We also added some frozen peas, which isn't true to the dish, but was super tasty. I'll be making this again--- I love how healthy it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2010
I went ahead and added the "bit of stewed tomatoes" and substituted dried ingredients for fresh. Yum!!! Quite spicy, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bedford, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
This dish is FANTASTIC. I make it every time we make Indian, and even family members who won't touch cauliflower love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2010
Very good, and very easy. As many other reviewers suggest, adding water to the pan will help the veggies cook thoroughly and keep from burning; I decided to add more oil a little bit at a time though, because I didn't want the cauliflower to get that mushy texture and watered-down taste that comes with steaming. Also, I used fresh grated ginger, because that was what I already had in the house, and it tasted incredibly fresh and vibrant. This dish heated up great for leftovers, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
As written, the recipe could use some more details/rewriting (some suggestions: total weight of potatoes since "medium" is kind of arbitrary; an approximate size to cut the potatoes and cauliflower, which is a huge factor in how long it takes to cook; I also agree with adding the salt near the end), but as another reviewer said, it's a good base for tweaking to your own tastes. I made it with all of the ingredients listed in the amounts listed except the cilantro because I didn't have it. I cut the potatoes into roughly 1/2" x 1" cubes and the cauliflower into rough pieces about 1 1/2" square, and put them both into the pan when it says to add the potatoes. Adding 3-4 tbsp water every few minutes kept it from burning. All in all, it took about 20 minutes to cook the vegetables (mine were starting to fall apart, which was what I wanted so the small bits would make a kind of paste to stick to the vegetables). I added a diced Roma tomato about 15 minutes in and it broke down nicely. Next time I am going to add some pureed onion with the cumin seed/garlic/ginger for a bit more flavor. It seemed rather bland when it was just finished cooking, but letting it sit to cool a bit made it taste much better. I will definitely make it again. Another tip that others may find useful: prep and measure out everything before you start cooking - finding and measuring spices is much easier when you don't have a hot pan on the stove :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heidi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 133) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Chickpeas

See how to make garbanzo beans simmered with Indian spices.

Spicy Vegan Potato Curry

See how to make a spicy vegan curry with chickpeas and potatoes.

Indian Vegetable Bhaji

A spicy Indian dry curry with potatoes, cauliflower, carrots, and peas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States