Gobi Aloo (Indian Style Cauliflower with Potatoes) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
excellent !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joel's mom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
I used 4 potatoes, soaked in water for a few minutes to remove some of the starch. Added a can of drained garbanzo beans and two tomatoes about five minutes after the cauliflower. Eyeballed the spices and used some curry powder in place of the cumin and turmeric. Needed to cook 30 minutes total for the potatoes to be soft. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Saint Anne
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2011
It was kind-of bland. Even with a whole can of tomatoes, it seemed a little dry, and not enough of a PUNCH of flavors I was expecting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
I didn't make this with potatoes as we are avoiding simple sugars. And because I didn't have cumin seeds, I used mustard seeds instead... Overall, I like the spices that go into this which results in a flavourful cauliflower dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merlion

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
I agree with Mark P. This dish is not intended to be a masala / gravy dish. I added mustard seeds with the cumin seeds, and up the spices across the board. I added a touch of water each time I stirred to keep the veggies sweating and added 5 minutes to the potatoes, and another 5 minutes with the gobi. I also added a diced fresh tomato toward the end, though not traditionally found in aloo gobi. I would definitely serve to guests with my additions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
My first indian dish and came out perfect! Just like I ate in restaurants in Toronto! I am so thrilled. I did add some water to it...but only change! Yumm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
The spices are not strong enough for my taste. Thank you for sharing it though. I'll add more spices next time! Perhaps extra salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maxine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
I followed the recipe closely and the dish turned out a bit bland. I added in more of the spices and even a bit of tabasco. Maybe it's just a matter of preference. Also the proportions are a bit off (cauliflower vs potato.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2011
Love the spices in this recipe. Did add some diced tomatoes for moisture. Served with Basmati rice. Next time i'm going to try substituting chick peas for potato so as to add a little protein. Delicious recipe though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by albe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2011
I followed this recipe as directed but also added a diced tomato (would rather have used two but I only had one) and some frozen peas near the end. I added a half cup or so of water every few minutes throughout the cooking process to keep the vegetables from burning and to help the spices seem less powdery. The recipe made a TON of food- I fed my family one night, had a big lunch of leftovers and I still have a sandwich sized tupperware left. Unless your servings are huge you will make more than the 4 mentioned. This was only my second indian (indian style...) recipe and I found it very easy. It was a big hit and my dad said he could smell it cooking all the way out in the driveway. It was a very inviting smell. Will definitely make again, with more tomatoes next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KittyScherbatsky

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Chickpeas

See how to make garbanzo beans simmered with Indian spices.

Spicy Vegan Potato Curry

See how to make a spicy vegan curry with chickpeas and potatoes.

Indian Vegetable Bhaji

A spicy Indian dry curry with potatoes, cauliflower, carrots, and peas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States