Gobi Aloo (Indian Style Cauliflower with Potatoes) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2013
Yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2013
Remember to turn down the heat when you are cooking the potatoes. They get easily burn. I will have to try making it with coconut milk or adding water next time, cause it does taste dry like another reviewer says.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennifertse10

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Alameda, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2013
This is an awesome recipe. I like to add two cut up tomatoes to the recipe. My family thoroughly enjoyed this dish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2013
I made this and found it to be pretty tasty. My only mods were to use smoked paprika, added green peas and did add about a cup of water to help steam as some other reviewer did. As some one else pointed out, best to salt to taste when the dish is done. I will make this again. Healthy and tasty! Might try adding some tomatoes and chilies next time for a little more kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
Sooooooo gooooood but I made it with the addition of a can of coconut milk, diced tomatoes, chickpeas, and some tomato paste. I used curry paste instead of all the separate spices and this will be in my regular rotation for sure. I can't comment on the recipe as posted since I made so many changes as others suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2013
Dry? Not mine. Added 1/4 cup of broth; switched the 2 potatoes to a sweet potato (better for you). Even my boys liked it, a very rare occurrence. Very delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
This was delicious. You're definitely going to want to add water while the potatoes and cauliflower cooks. I ended up using about a cup and the Gobi Aloo still remained dry in the end. Which is how I've always had it at good Indian restaurants. The stewed tomatoes are also a great addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sam Ponjican

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2012
I often make Indian food. We eat it almost once a week. This is an excellent recipe. It is supposed to be a dry curry. This recipe is a good base if you want to change it a bit also. I have doubled all the ingredients, added thinly sliced carrots and onion at the same time as the potato. Then I threw in some left over peas, from dinner the night before. It was fabulous! So, make this as shown the first time around, then have fun playing around with it. Again, A very good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by D&D'S MOM

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Antigo, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2012
Not a huge fan. We found this bland, despite following the recipe as closely as possible. I, like many others, had to add water to keep the potatoes and garlic from sticking. Although, come to think of it: I ended up with far more than 4 servings - more like seven - so it's possible that my proportions were off, which would explain the blandness; except that I used one head of cauliflower and one large potato, which if anything should have left me with fewer vegetables. Oh well, who knows? Thanks anyway!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Paltz, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2012
great recipe! it was very simple to make. I actually doubled the spices and added chicken stock to assist in steaming the potatoes. I also added a cup of petite peas (at the end) to have a green veggie and for color contrast. I served it with garlic naan for a wonderful complete dinner. Enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 137) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Chickpeas

See how to make garbanzo beans simmered with Indian spices.

Indian Vegetable Bhaji

A spicy Indian dry curry with potatoes, cauliflower, carrots, and peas.

Roast Potatoes

Quick, flavorful roasted red potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States