Gobi Aloo (Indian Style Cauliflower with Potatoes) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2012
Not a huge fan. We found this bland, despite following the recipe as closely as possible. I, like many others, had to add water to keep the potatoes and garlic from sticking. Although, come to think of it: I ended up with far more than 4 servings - more like seven - so it's possible that my proportions were off, which would explain the blandness; except that I used one head of cauliflower and one large potato, which if anything should have left me with fewer vegetables. Oh well, who knows? Thanks anyway!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Paltz, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2012
great recipe! it was very simple to make. I actually doubled the spices and added chicken stock to assist in steaming the potatoes. I also added a cup of petite peas (at the end) to have a green veggie and for color contrast. I served it with garlic naan for a wonderful complete dinner. Enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2012
My whole family liked this recipe. I added a little broth and a little tomato paste instead of the stewed tomatoes mentioned in the description for the flavor without the chunks of tomato which my kids don't like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2012
Disappointing- I started out with the recommended amount of spices (the quantity of which I was dubious of) and when I tasted it I found it almost completely flavorless. So I doubled them- still not enough flavor. Tripled most them- still not enough flavor. This recipe only became edible when I added a can of tomatoes. Also, do not forget to add water when cooking otherwise you can look forward to burnt Aloo Gobi.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LittleSovietRobot

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2012
Not a bad recipe but definitely on the bland side as written. As another reviewer pointed out, this isn't meant to have a sauce. However, I had to add at least a half cup of chicken broth to keep it from completely drying out and burning on the bottom. I also increased the spices by 50% and thought this wasn't enough. If I try this again I'll double the spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mcdonough, Georgia, USA
Living In: Douglas, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Valli Arunachalam
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2012
I feel something is missing, may be the flavour...but it is nice and easy to prepare...try this out without any changes...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valli Arunachalam

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Pondicherry, Pondicherry, India
Photo by njmom
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
made as written. delicious as is. thanks for the post shadzadi!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by njmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
Potatoes stuck to the pan and got mushy. Lacked flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2012
Absolutely loved this! Had it with Indian rice and vindaloo pork. A big hit in my household. Will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2012
YUM! Delicious! Pretty much followed the recipe as written, but I did need to add a splash of chicken stock a couple times to keep the potatoes from sticking to the bottom of the pan and burning. . .seriously, just a splash, not enough to make a sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Indian Chickpeas

See how to make garbanzo beans simmered with Indian spices.

Spicy Vegan Potato Curry

See how to make a spicy vegan curry with chickpeas and potatoes.

Indian Vegetable Bhaji

A spicy Indian dry curry with potatoes, cauliflower, carrots, and peas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States