Goat Cheese Salmon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2007
Very Good....and SO easy to make. I used a whole tail piece of salmon and not individual filets which worked out nicely (less individual stuffing, cutting etc). I cut a small slit through the entire length of the tail and almost to the back of the fish, creating a nice pocket. I stuffed the herbed goat cheese & packed it down. I then salt & peppered the the top of the fish & made a mixture of light mayo, dijon mustard, parmesan cheese & bread crumbs. Baked on a foiled lined baking sheet (sprayed) at 350 for approx 15+ minutes, then turned on the broiler and broiled just for a minute or 2 to get the top crust nice & brown. WOW! Delicious! And incredibly easy. Serve is with couscous and it might be the easiest & most delicious meal you'll make all week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2007
This was an easy to make recipe - yet quite an elegant presentation. I used plain goat cheese; sliced off pieces and rolled them in dried dill weed (fresh would be good too, but I didn't have any on hand) before stuffing the salmon fillets. I made my own blend by combining 1 tbsp each of Dijon mustard and light mayonnaise - which was plently to spread on top of the fillets. Before baking, I put more dill on the mustard-mayo topping. A definite make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barb A.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2007
Good dish. A few changes I would suggest..1.)cut back on the mayo-dijon atleast by half. 2.)add back plain dijon mustard to make up for what you took away. 3.) thicker salmon works better, you can make a nice hole to stuff the goat chesse in about every inch or so. 4.) put some goat chesse on top as well, it well brown up just like the picture. Enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bob Johnson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2009
Goat cheese and salmon, who would have guessed? This was delicious! I did make a LOT of changes to make it more to my taste and healthier. First, I used plain goat cheese. I also chopped some fresh spinach and added that with the goat cheese as part of the stuffing. I don't like mayo, and I was a little skeptical about the mustard/goat cheese combo, so I made my own sauce by whisking together juice from one lemon, 1 tbsp olive oil, and dried dill. After stuffing the fish, I salted and peppered it and poured my sauce over it. It came out juicy and delicious! I plan to make this for my future in-laws when I go to visit in a few weeks. I think they will be impressed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2008
Tired of the pseudo teryaki recipes that dominate salmon recipes, I tried this one and was pleasantly surprised. Didn't have herbed goat cheese, so I mixed in plain with basil, thyme and ROSEMARY (the best) along with some sun-dried tomatoes. Coated the salmon with mayo-mustard just enough so it was barely covered, and the result was juicy and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2008
I combined this recipe and the one listed for Wrapped Salmon. I used squares of puff pastry dough to wrap the salmon fillets after stuffing them with the feta cheese. Used garlic and herb cheese and omitted the mayo topping. Made a quick sauce using: 1/2 c mayo and 1/2 c sour cream and added dill weed, salt and pepper to taste. Thank you for the idea to use feta cheese - its my favorite way to prepare salmon now! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wrocklage72

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2007
This was really good. Next time I make it I'll add some dill for more flavor and color. I also might try broiling it for a minute at the end to get the top to brown like in the picture. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2007
The goat cheese is a nice match for the salmon, though very rich. Thicker pieces will work best for this dish. The mayo-mustard was ok, very rich dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2007
This was soo good, and so easy. We didn't have goat cheese, so we used cream cheese--The best!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by drea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2008
Wow this is a delicious recipe! I absolutely loved the flavors of the herbed goat cheese and the salmon together. My husband added some parmesean cheese to the dijon/mayo mixture. He also broiled it for a couple of minutes at the end. I can't wait to try this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMCookinNow

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aurora, Colorado, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 99) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Dijon Salmon

A simple and delicious way to make fresh flavorful salmon in the oven.

Beet Salad with Goat Cheese

This substantial, 5-star salad features a sweet and tangy balsamic dressing.

Peach and Goat Cheese Tartine

See how to make a warm tartine with goat cheese and fresh peaches.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States