Goat Cheese Risotto Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
These were very good although it was very sticky creating the balls. Also they took a long time to cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2011
I made this for my boyfriend who always gets the risotto balls at our favorite restaurant. They were good but it did take a long time to cook. I made it again using pancos to cover the balls before putting them in the pan and it did seem to make the cooking process go faster, plus it was less of a mess as the risotto the first time fell apart a bit when flipped too early. And it's probably just me, but I found them extra good when dipped in to a bit of warm maple syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2010
Mehh. They were ok. People seemed to like them, but I found them rather bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheWanderer

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Salisbury, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
I had one heck of a time frying these in the pan -- other recipes on line call for deep frying -- so next time I will try stuffing then flattening like a crab cake. I made these for Christmas Eve and the flavor was fabulous and I reveived many compliments -- even from my 94 yr. old grandma -in-law who is really hard to impress!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
I already believe it deserves four stars. I already like to make risotto but for some reason I never thought of doing anything new with any left overs. Maybe because I love risotto so much I tend to scoff the lot and have no left overs. But no more! Fab idea and will be rolling left overs into cheese balls. I bet mozzarella will be nice with it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emarwood

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by inounvme
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2009
After rolling ingredients freeze for about 15 minutes. Dip in milk and egg mixture roll in Panko Bread crumbs and allow them to sit on a rack with something under the rack to catch the crumbs falling away for about 5 minutes. This will help to cut down on the moisture so the bread crumbs will not break away while frying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by inounvme

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lansdowne, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
My whole family loved this and to fry them faster i coated them in egg and milk mixture then rolled them in panko very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacey Clark
Living In: Jackson, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2005
I made this as is. I used a herb/garlic risotto mix. It is messy making the balls up, but well worth it. It really does take 40 minutes to fry. Used med/high heat. Don't even bother checking them until at least 10 minutes. Turning them too soon or too often makes them fall apart. My nine year old loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2003
it's really good even thought i've made some minor changes in the original recipe, like cooking the arborio in saffron chiken stock and seassoning the goat with a sprinkle of dill and some oyster sauce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Goat Cheese Caprese Salad

Taste a creamy, inspired version of the classic tomato salad.

Strawberry Goat Cheese Bruschetta

A somewhat sweet, mostly savory, all delicious appetizer—or even dessert.

Goat Cheese Apple Walnut Pasta

See how to make a quick and delicious pasta side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States