Go Girl Hot Szechwan Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
Didn't change a thing. This tastes like something you would get at a restaurant. Just the right amount of spice. We enjoyed it with a glass of Moscato wine, by Barefoot. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ASTCLAIR1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2009
Really excellent and easy spicy chinese recipe. I doubled the spicy stuff as we like it hot! Definitely would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2008
This didn't turn out how I thought it would. The ginger & vinegar was all I could taste. The flavours just didn't combine together well. I added some honey which helped the balance but it still wasn't perfect. Don't think I will try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hot Chilli

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2006
I did mine a little different and I like the way it came out. I don't like nuts so I omitted those and I added some all natural hot sauce to give it an extra kick. Yummy and easy. Thanks for the idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hull, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2005
This recipe was good, but not great. It definitely was not spicy (we used chili powder instead of chili paste, which may have been why it was milder than expected). The orange taste was pretty evident. I probably won't make this recipe again, but if I do, I will definitely look for some sort of hot Asian chili paste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheri S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Novato, California, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2005
Definitley NOT spicy! Not at all! I used a red and orange pepper because I like their taste moreso than green peppers, and I left out the sherry, but those was the only changes I made. It was more onion flavored than anything. It was basic fare, and I was kind of disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Forbidden Fruit Cocktail

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Prince Rupert, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2005
I love Szechwan, and this recipe hit the spot. It was a great candle light dinner for the husband & I. Couldn't find the chile paste, or fresh chile peppers at my local grocery. So I used chili powder. I left out the sherry. The oranges were horrible at the store, so I end up using McCormick orange peel (1/2 tablespoon) I followed everything else to a que, and it turned out great. Not watery, mildely spicy, but does take extra time, but worth it in my opinion. I served my dish with steamed rice, and a Mandarin Orange Oriental salad I made. Will be making again..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2004
This was great - like most chinese dishes the preparation is a bit long - but the result was worth it. The only thing I changed was to use 2 tablespoons of chinese garlic chili sauce. Thank you submitter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodside, New York, USA
Living In: Linden, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2004
I loved this recipe! I sauteed the Chicken breasts whole in olive oil and then shredded. The only thing I would change is the chile sauce I bought was not hot at all. Really good flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2004
I love spicy food, so this was perfect for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Esmee Williams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Groton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Hot Mustard Chicken Thighs

See how to make baked chicken thighs with a sweet, hot mustard glaze.

Chicken Stir-Fry

A quick stir-fry that’s slightly sweet, slightly spicy and very veggie friendly.

Spicy Orange Chicken

Discover a healthier version of spicy orange chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States