Gnocchi in Fontina Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Michelle S
Reviewed: May 22, 2005
Really yummy sauce especially with my home made gnocchi. Made exact from recipe with great results. Perfect for a special meal since it is so decadent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Berlin, Vermont, USA
Living In: Wrentham, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2005
This was truly decadent! Oh my gosh, it was like something out of a wonderful restuarant! The only thing is that I would cut the butter amount in half, I think it is really too much. It kind of pooled on top of the sauce and separated a little. I was a little short on fontina, so I upped the parmesan to 1/4 cup. Sadly, I had no fresh basil, so I had to use dried. Still good though, but I can't imagine how much better it would have been with fresh!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2005
very quick and easy to prepare. the delightful, creamy, rich cheese sauce goes well over broccoli or any veggie, too---easy way to feed kids! shallots give a wonderful flavor; fontina cheese---any day, any time w/ anything! very filling dish with gnocchi---will try penne or bowtie pasta next time! thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: College Park, Maryland, USA
Living In: Bay Village, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BRUNOSBETH
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2008
Delicious & decadent! I made homemade gnocchi using the 'Quick Gnocchi' recipe on this site & seasoned with crushed rosemary & salt/pepper. I did change the sauce a little and followed other reviewer's suggestions to reduce the butter by half and I did use half and half cream to cut down on fat. I substituted the fresh herbs and seasoned the sauce instead with a splash of white wine, 1/4 tsp cayenne pepper and 1/4 tsp ground mustand. It was soooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BRUNOSBETH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2005
Love the richness. Encredible dish, in every way-flavor, texture, color. My family loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2005
This recipe was excellent. It was very rich, so I will only make for special occasions. I reduced the fontina cheese to about 6 ounces and also added sauteed scallops. Again, a wonderful recipe and very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2007
loved the sauce! was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Olean, New York, USA
Living In: Pueblo West, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2007
Cut butter in half as was suggested by other reviewers and turned out excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2007
This sauce was amazing! I think it would also be really good as a base for macaroni and cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2008
This recipe is simply decadent! Excellent. For those that said it was too think a sauce, add alittle more half and half if it appears to be too thick while melting the cheese, sheesh. This makes plenty of sauce, so you may have alittle less than half left over. This sauce is perfect for a fondue sauce, so keep the extra sauce, grab some crusty bread and enjoy with a loved one. Be warned: This recipe is VERY rich, so you won't want to make this every week. Once a month or for a special occasion like Valentine's Day or an anniversary would be perfect! ENJOY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robert E.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bristol, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Levittown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Gnocchi in Fontina Sauce

What's cooking in Long Beach? The perfect potato gnocchi.

Butternut Squash and Mascarpone Gnocchi

See how to make homemade gnocchi with butternut squash and mascarpone.

Penne with Spicy Vodka Tomato Cream Sauce

See how to make a classic vodka and tomato cream sauce with a kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States