Gnocchi in Fontina Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2005
As a major cheese lover, I can't believe I am even going to bring myself to type this, but this recipe just had too much cheese. The scallions bring a really great flavour to this dish, but we easily could have cut down on the fontina cheese. I will try this dish again, but next time, I will use 6 oz of fontina cheese and 1/2 cup cream. On a side note, try a bite before adding additional parmesan cheese on top!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
90 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kelcampbell

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Smiths Falls, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kemptville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2005
VERY heavy. I would suggest using light cream and half the butter. Taste was good, but again... heavy. Make sure the cheese doesn't have time to harden or it will separate from the butter and cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2005
This was truly decadent! Oh my gosh, it was like something out of a wonderful restuarant! The only thing is that I would cut the butter amount in half, I think it is really too much. It kind of pooled on top of the sauce and separated a little. I was a little short on fontina, so I upped the parmesan to 1/4 cup. Sadly, I had no fresh basil, so I had to use dried. Still good though, but I can't imagine how much better it would have been with fresh!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by LynnInHK
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2005
Such an easy recipe. Had trouble finding Fontina cheese, so settled for a cheese labeled as "Dutch soft cheese." Close enough for me. To cut down fat, I used low fat milk instead of cream, but it was still creamy enough for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LynnInHK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Centreville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Hong Kong, Hong Kong Island, Hong Kong

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2006
It was great! really tasty.. I added one box of frozen spinach (thawed and REALLY WELL DRAINED) and a little bit of lemon juice right at the end. My husband suggested we put pancetta and mushrooms next time.. a GREAT recipe to work with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2007
I hate giving this recipe a three rating, but I felt that it needed a little perfecting. I made my sauce the same way as I would for mac and cheese. That means cutting the butter amount in half, adding flour to make a roux, then adding the liquid, stirring until thickened and finally the cheese. In this case, I used fat free half and half and found I needed more than suggested. Fontina is one of my all time favorite cheeses, so I was thrilled to have a reason to buy it. I shredded it instead of cubing and probably used a bit more. I also added some seasonings to the sauce. This was a great start to a comforting and delicious dish. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Photo by Michelle S
Reviewed: May 22, 2005
Really yummy sauce especially with my home made gnocchi. Made exact from recipe with great results. Perfect for a special meal since it is so decadent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Berlin, Vermont, USA
Living In: Wrentham, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2005
very quick and easy to prepare. the delightful, creamy, rich cheese sauce goes well over broccoli or any veggie, too---easy way to feed kids! shallots give a wonderful flavor; fontina cheese---any day, any time w/ anything! very filling dish with gnocchi---will try penne or bowtie pasta next time! thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: College Park, Maryland, USA
Living In: Bay Village, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2005
This was a tasty sauce and easy to prepare. It was my first time trying fontina and I was glad that the taste was not too harsh. I did add some milk to this recipe - probably about 1/2 cup. It was just REALLY thick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NKTAUBE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2010
This is straight up comfort food! I made my own gnocchi, bc I dont like pre-made gnocchi. I did twist the recipe a little bit, I added garlic and sage to the shallots, and took off the basil. This was delicious! I strongly recommend adding fresh minced garlic; it makes a huge difference!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Gnocchi in Fontina Sauce

What's cooking in Long Beach? The perfect potato gnocchi.

Butternut Squash and Mascarpone Gnocchi

See how to make homemade gnocchi with butternut squash and mascarpone.

Smoked Sausage Gnocchi with Sun-Dried Tomatoes

See how to make easy gnocchi with savory smoked sausage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States