Gnocchi in Fontina Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2005
very quick and easy to prepare. the delightful, creamy, rich cheese sauce goes well over broccoli or any veggie, too---easy way to feed kids! shallots give a wonderful flavor; fontina cheese---any day, any time w/ anything! very filling dish with gnocchi---will try penne or bowtie pasta next time! thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: College Park, Maryland, USA
Living In: Bay Village, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2005
Love the richness. Encredible dish, in every way-flavor, texture, color. My family loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LynnInHK
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2005
Such an easy recipe. Had trouble finding Fontina cheese, so settled for a cheese labeled as "Dutch soft cheese." Close enough for me. To cut down fat, I used low fat milk instead of cream, but it was still creamy enough for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LynnInHK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Centreville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Hong Kong, Hong Kong Island, Hong Kong

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2005
As a major cheese lover, I can't believe I am even going to bring myself to type this, but this recipe just had too much cheese. The scallions bring a really great flavour to this dish, but we easily could have cut down on the fontina cheese. I will try this dish again, but next time, I will use 6 oz of fontina cheese and 1/2 cup cream. On a side note, try a bite before adding additional parmesan cheese on top!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
88 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kelcampbell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smiths Falls, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kemptville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2005
VERY heavy. I would suggest using light cream and half the butter. Taste was good, but again... heavy. Make sure the cheese doesn't have time to harden or it will separate from the butter and cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2005
This was a tasty sauce and easy to prepare. It was my first time trying fontina and I was glad that the taste was not too harsh. I did add some milk to this recipe - probably about 1/2 cup. It was just REALLY thick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NKTAUBE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Michelle S
Reviewed: May 22, 2005
Really yummy sauce especially with my home made gnocchi. Made exact from recipe with great results. Perfect for a special meal since it is so decadent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Berlin, Vermont, USA
Living In: Wrentham, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2005
This recipe was excellent. It was very rich, so I will only make for special occasions. I reduced the fontina cheese to about 6 ounces and also added sauteed scallops. Again, a wonderful recipe and very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2005
MY SAUCE CAME OUT WAY TOO THICK...I ENDED UP ADDING MORE CREAM. I DIDN'T REALLY LIKE THE TEXTURE OF THE SAUCE AND THE FLAVOR WAS JUST OKAY TO ME.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2005
This was truly decadent! Oh my gosh, it was like something out of a wonderful restuarant! The only thing is that I would cut the butter amount in half, I think it is really too much. It kind of pooled on top of the sauce and separated a little. I was a little short on fontina, so I upped the parmesan to 1/4 cup. Sadly, I had no fresh basil, so I had to use dried. Still good though, but I can't imagine how much better it would have been with fresh!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Gnocchi in Fontina Sauce

What's cooking in Long Beach? The perfect potato gnocchi.

Butternut Squash and Mascarpone Gnocchi

See how to make homemade gnocchi with butternut squash and mascarpone.

Smoked Sausage Gnocchi with Sun-Dried Tomatoes

See how to make easy gnocchi with savory smoked sausage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States