Gnocchi in Fontina Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2006
I gave this four stars because I thought it was good but too salty. However, my husband loved it and wants me to make it again. I did try it once with Muenster cheese and that turned out pretty good (and its a lot cheaper than Fontina cheese). Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2006
I was surprised at how quick and easy this is. Very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hot Chilli

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2006
the sauce wasn't much like sauce at all. just melted cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by geekOphile

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2005
This was truly decadent! Oh my gosh, it was like something out of a wonderful restuarant! The only thing is that I would cut the butter amount in half, I think it is really too much. It kind of pooled on top of the sauce and separated a little. I was a little short on fontina, so I upped the parmesan to 1/4 cup. Sadly, I had no fresh basil, so I had to use dried. Still good though, but I can't imagine how much better it would have been with fresh!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2005
MY SAUCE CAME OUT WAY TOO THICK...I ENDED UP ADDING MORE CREAM. I DIDN'T REALLY LIKE THE TEXTURE OF THE SAUCE AND THE FLAVOR WAS JUST OKAY TO ME.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2005
This recipe was excellent. It was very rich, so I will only make for special occasions. I reduced the fontina cheese to about 6 ounces and also added sauteed scallops. Again, a wonderful recipe and very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Michelle S
Reviewed: May 22, 2005
Really yummy sauce especially with my home made gnocchi. Made exact from recipe with great results. Perfect for a special meal since it is so decadent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Berlin, Vermont, USA
Living In: Wrentham, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2005
This was a tasty sauce and easy to prepare. It was my first time trying fontina and I was glad that the taste was not too harsh. I did add some milk to this recipe - probably about 1/2 cup. It was just REALLY thick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NKTAUBE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2005
VERY heavy. I would suggest using light cream and half the butter. Taste was good, but again... heavy. Make sure the cheese doesn't have time to harden or it will separate from the butter and cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2005
As a major cheese lover, I can't believe I am even going to bring myself to type this, but this recipe just had too much cheese. The scallions bring a really great flavour to this dish, but we easily could have cut down on the fontina cheese. I will try this dish again, but next time, I will use 6 oz of fontina cheese and 1/2 cup cream. On a side note, try a bite before adding additional parmesan cheese on top!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
88 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kelcampbell

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Smiths Falls, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kemptville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Gnocchi in Fontina Sauce

What's cooking in Long Beach? The perfect potato gnocchi.

Butternut Squash and Mascarpone Gnocchi

See how to make homemade gnocchi with butternut squash and mascarpone.

Smoked Sausage Gnocchi with Sun-Dried Tomatoes

See how to make easy gnocchi with savory smoked sausage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States