Gnocchi in Fontina Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2007
I hate giving this recipe a three rating, but I felt that it needed a little perfecting. I made my sauce the same way as I would for mac and cheese. That means cutting the butter amount in half, adding flour to make a roux, then adding the liquid, stirring until thickened and finally the cheese. In this case, I used fat free half and half and found I needed more than suggested. Fontina is one of my all time favorite cheeses, so I was thrilled to have a reason to buy it. I shredded it instead of cubing and probably used a bit more. I also added some seasonings to the sauce. This was a great start to a comforting and delicious dish. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2006
It was great! really tasty.. I added one box of frozen spinach (thawed and REALLY WELL DRAINED) and a little bit of lemon juice right at the end. My husband suggested we put pancetta and mushrooms next time.. a GREAT recipe to work with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2006
I gave this four stars because I thought it was good but too salty. However, my husband loved it and wants me to make it again. I did try it once with Muenster cheese and that turned out pretty good (and its a lot cheaper than Fontina cheese). Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2006
I was surprised at how quick and easy this is. Very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hot Chilli

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2006
the sauce wasn't much like sauce at all. just melted cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by geekOphile

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2005
This was truly decadent! Oh my gosh, it was like something out of a wonderful restuarant! The only thing is that I would cut the butter amount in half, I think it is really too much. It kind of pooled on top of the sauce and separated a little. I was a little short on fontina, so I upped the parmesan to 1/4 cup. Sadly, I had no fresh basil, so I had to use dried. Still good though, but I can't imagine how much better it would have been with fresh!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2005
MY SAUCE CAME OUT WAY TOO THICK...I ENDED UP ADDING MORE CREAM. I DIDN'T REALLY LIKE THE TEXTURE OF THE SAUCE AND THE FLAVOR WAS JUST OKAY TO ME.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2005
This recipe was excellent. It was very rich, so I will only make for special occasions. I reduced the fontina cheese to about 6 ounces and also added sauteed scallops. Again, a wonderful recipe and very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Michelle S
Reviewed: May 22, 2005
Really yummy sauce especially with my home made gnocchi. Made exact from recipe with great results. Perfect for a special meal since it is so decadent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Berlin, Vermont, USA
Living In: Wrentham, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2005
This was a tasty sauce and easy to prepare. It was my first time trying fontina and I was glad that the taste was not too harsh. I did add some milk to this recipe - probably about 1/2 cup. It was just REALLY thick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NKTAUBE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Gnocchi in Fontina Sauce

What's cooking in Long Beach? The perfect potato gnocchi.

Butternut Squash and Mascarpone Gnocchi

See how to make homemade gnocchi with butternut squash and mascarpone.

Smoked Sausage Gnocchi with Sun-Dried Tomatoes

See how to make easy gnocchi with savory smoked sausage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States