Gnocchi in Fontina Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2008
I enjoyed this meal extremely. A very heavy combo. I will use as an appetizer next time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JoeAnuar

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2008
The sauce was tasty but too thick. Next time I make it I would use light cream as oppossed to heavy cream
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2007
This sauce was amazing! I think it would also be really good as a base for macaroni and cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2007
Sorry but this did not go over well with my family. The sauce is way to thick and we were just not thrilled with the taste. Will keep looking. Thanks for letting us try
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LESLEYfromWI
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2007
We've never had gnocchi before, and discovered tonight we don't like it. I don't know if I overcooked them or what, but they had a horrid gluey heavy texture. The sauce was ok, but not worth the calories, and definitely not 10 bucks' worth of cheese. Disappointing. Thanks anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2007
Cut butter in half as was suggested by other reviewers and turned out excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2007
loved the sauce! was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Olean, New York, USA
Living In: Pueblo West, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2007
I LOVE Gnocchi! Can't get enough of those little doughy pillows of yumminess, but this sauce was very disappointing. Much to salty and thick. Will keep looking for other sauces for my little doughy pillows of yumminess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barbi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Folsom, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2007
I hate giving this recipe a three rating, but I felt that it needed a little perfecting. I made my sauce the same way as I would for mac and cheese. That means cutting the butter amount in half, adding flour to make a roux, then adding the liquid, stirring until thickened and finally the cheese. In this case, I used fat free half and half and found I needed more than suggested. Fontina is one of my all time favorite cheeses, so I was thrilled to have a reason to buy it. I shredded it instead of cubing and probably used a bit more. I also added some seasonings to the sauce. This was a great start to a comforting and delicious dish. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2006
It was great! really tasty.. I added one box of frozen spinach (thawed and REALLY WELL DRAINED) and a little bit of lemon juice right at the end. My husband suggested we put pancetta and mushrooms next time.. a GREAT recipe to work with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Gnocchi in Fontina Sauce

What's cooking in Long Beach? The perfect potato gnocchi.

Butternut Squash and Mascarpone Gnocchi

See how to make homemade gnocchi with butternut squash and mascarpone.

Smoked Sausage Gnocchi with Sun-Dried Tomatoes

See how to make easy gnocchi with savory smoked sausage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States