Gnocchi Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
This recipe is great! We love cheese so we added more and realized that you need to add a full jar of sauce if you are going to have leftovers. Without the extra sauce, the bake gets too dry when you rewarm it in the oven. Also, we didn't know what kind of Italian sausage to buy, so we picked out the kind that looked like a braut, which doesn't chop well when you cook it on a pan! We will have to try this again either with sausage you find in a plastic tube or buying the same kind again and chopping them up into discs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
We'd probably give it 4 1/2 stars. We bought some gnocchi in the pasta aisle. Looked for recipes that would be good for kids and easy. This fits the bill. There are lots of ways to personalize it, but we stuck with the original recipe this time. It didn't taste gummy to us. We used Newman's Own pasta sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2013
Not bad. Not great, but not bad. Will probably find another gnocchi recipe to try next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Annapolis, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2013
Easy to make and turned out great. I doubled the recipe and used only one pound of meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2013
Yummy! I did like a previous reviewer and used half gnocchi and half tortellini. I didn't add any meat. I added some sliced black olives and I cut up some artichoke hearts and added to the sauce. It was very easy - I used canned spaghetti sauce. I served with garlic bread. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2013
Granted, this is very basic, but it still gave me an idea for the gnocchi in my pantry. I had never thought to use it in a casserole. I halved the recipe because I had 1/2 lb. of sausage and there are only two of us. It would have been delicious as is, but I had some leftover eggplant, a zucchini and a couple of mushrooms I needed to use, so I diced the eggplant and zucchini and sliced the mushrooms. After sauteeing some chopped onions in a bit of olive oil, I added and browned the sausage, removed it from the skillet and added the remaining veggies with a chopped garlic clove. When they were done,I proceeded with the recipe as written. I did add a bit of parmesan on top with the mozzarella. Great comfort food. Also a way to use any veggies you have to make a one dish meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SherryL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2012
This is a good base recipe for a basic yummy raindy-day dish. Like others, I added a bit -- used chorizo sausage, finely chopped onion, chopped garlic and, to avoid the gumm-iness of the gnocchi, I parboiled first then pan fried in butter and basil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2012
Very easy and the whole family enjoyed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
Very nice dish. I didn't think it was gummy or too cheesy at all. Make sure you cook the gnocchi as directed; if you cook it too long, it will become gooey or mushy. It's done when it floats to the top--most of the pasta will be done all at the same time, I promise. I thought this was a bit heavy, but you could elimate the sausage to lighten it a tad. The gnocchi definitely makes it filling! We both gobbled this up and enjoyed the leftovers as well. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
It is silly how good this is. I used Bob Evans Premium Cuts Italian Sausage, Parmesan & Romano Robusto Ragu, regular old gnocchi and 3 cups of mozzarella - ridiculous....outstanding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 191) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Gnocchi in Fontina Sauce

What's cooking in Long Beach? The perfect potato gnocchi.

Ricotta Gnocchi with Fresh Peas and Mushrooms

See how to make wonderfully light ricotta gnocchi with peas and mushrooms.

Butternut Squash and Mascarpone Gnocchi

See how to make homemade gnocchi with butternut squash and mascarpone.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States