Gluten-Free Yellow Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2011
i was not expecting this to be as good as it was. the best gluten-free cake i have ever tasted. followed reviewers suggestion to mix milk with rice flour (i used brown rice flour), added 1/2 cup cocoa powder and an extra 1/3 cup sugar. made into 17 huge cupcakes and frosted with chocolate fudge frosting- they were heaven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2011
Decided to give this a go for my grandmother's birthday since she has to eat gluten-free. My parents and I were absolutely shocked at how the cakes came out. I took the advice of a few other reviewers, letting the batter mix for ten or so minutes before panning it up and baking it in order to let the rice flour hydrate a bit. Straight out of the oven they were delicious and fluffy, but were even better overnight. They lost the last of the slight graininess that came with the rice flour, and are absolutely delicious. And as an added bonus, it holds up extraordinarily well to being carved out for fillings -- Even more so than your regular yellow cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TeaMarie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2011
A great recipe!! I followed the recipe except the mayo. I only had 1/3 cup mayo so I used 1/3 cup light sour cream also on the first batch. I tried a 2nd batch and used 6 beaten egg whites then added the sugar beat that then added the sour cream and mayo. I made sure that was beaten until fluffy. I also followed the suggestion of putting the rice flour in the milk to help it not be so gritty. They turned out to be incredibly fluffy and light! We thought they were some of the best cupcakes we have ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2011
A friend who recently found out he is gluten-intolerant had a birthday party last week. It has been difficult for him, as he's a pizza and pasta type of guy who hates gluten-free food, as are all of his friends. I made this cake with a homemade buttercream frosting and lined it with berries. The men at the party devoured it in less than twenty minutes! I told them afterward that it was gluten-free, and they couldn't believe it. That night I came home and ended up making cupcakes with the leftover ingredients for my boyfriend, who went crazy for them. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lea

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2011
I'm gluten intolerant and this is a great substitute for me. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Monica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2011
Pretty good but does taste a bit dry as is normal though from Gluten free. I will make again though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by M. Scicluna

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2011
This is a fabulous recipe! I always change it a little bit to make it vegan and it turns out perfectly each time. I make this for company all the time and it's always a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2011
YUM! I have made this recipe exactly as written twice now and it turned out perfectly both times! It is WAY better than the six dollar box of Betty Crocker yellow cake, and it is a snap to make! THANK YOU!! Also - for cupcakes, I've found you bake them for 14-16 minutes. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2011
I took some peoples advise and used rice flour from an Asian market. While I was in there I asked the woman how they bake with rice flour and she said to use 2 parts rice flour to 1 part sweet rice flour. Also since my son can not have milk I used almond milk. It came out great. And last I could not find xanthan gum so I used 2 tsp on corn starch instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
Wow - a really good GF cake! Soaking the rice flour in milk first truly does make a positive difference. You can easily cut this in half, and it is a great vanilla cake with no gritty feel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 200) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Gluten-Free Yellow Cake

See how to make a basic yellow cake with no wheat flour.

David’s Yellow Cake

See how to make a moist yellow cake from scratch.

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States