Gluten-Free Yellow Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2011
Super! My son was just diagnosed gluten intolerant and I had to find a cake recipe, since the last bakery gluten free cake was awful. This cake was so good my daughter and husband didn't know it was gluten free! I did use the fine rice flour from a local Asian food market and mixed the milk and rice flour first. This really helped the texture. Other baked items I've made (including other gluten free cakes) have turned out super crumbly and gritty in texture, but the texture was wonderful! This is a real keeper! I also took one cup of the batter out, added cocoa powder and some extra sugar, and used it to make it a marble cake. Super good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2011
As suggested, I beat my batter for 10 minutes to work in the xanthan gum for a non GF texture. Instead of the rice/tapioca flour blend, I used GF Mama Almond Flour Blend and it came out perfect. A word of caution: I've made this once before with a mayo that had garlic powder in the seasoning and could really taste the mayo. This time, my mayo was pretty "pure" and did not taste mayonnaise-y.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2011
Moist, soft, light and fluffy. This cake is as good if not better than wheat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2011
i was not expecting this to be as good as it was. the best gluten-free cake i have ever tasted. followed reviewers suggestion to mix milk with rice flour (i used brown rice flour), added 1/2 cup cocoa powder and an extra 1/3 cup sugar. made into 17 huge cupcakes and frosted with chocolate fudge frosting- they were heaven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2011
Decided to give this a go for my grandmother's birthday since she has to eat gluten-free. My parents and I were absolutely shocked at how the cakes came out. I took the advice of a few other reviewers, letting the batter mix for ten or so minutes before panning it up and baking it in order to let the rice flour hydrate a bit. Straight out of the oven they were delicious and fluffy, but were even better overnight. They lost the last of the slight graininess that came with the rice flour, and are absolutely delicious. And as an added bonus, it holds up extraordinarily well to being carved out for fillings -- Even more so than your regular yellow cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TeaMarie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2011
A great recipe!! I followed the recipe except the mayo. I only had 1/3 cup mayo so I used 1/3 cup light sour cream also on the first batch. I tried a 2nd batch and used 6 beaten egg whites then added the sugar beat that then added the sour cream and mayo. I made sure that was beaten until fluffy. I also followed the suggestion of putting the rice flour in the milk to help it not be so gritty. They turned out to be incredibly fluffy and light! We thought they were some of the best cupcakes we have ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2011
A friend who recently found out he is gluten-intolerant had a birthday party last week. It has been difficult for him, as he's a pizza and pasta type of guy who hates gluten-free food, as are all of his friends. I made this cake with a homemade buttercream frosting and lined it with berries. The men at the party devoured it in less than twenty minutes! I told them afterward that it was gluten-free, and they couldn't believe it. That night I came home and ended up making cupcakes with the leftover ingredients for my boyfriend, who went crazy for them. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lea

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2011
I'm gluten intolerant and this is a great substitute for me. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Monica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2011
Pretty good but does taste a bit dry as is normal though from Gluten free. I will make again though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by M. Scicluna

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2011
This is a fabulous recipe! I always change it a little bit to make it vegan and it turns out perfectly each time. I make this for company all the time and it's always a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 203) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Gluten-Free Yellow Cake

See how to make a basic yellow cake with no wheat flour.

David’s Yellow Cake

See how to make a moist yellow cake from scratch.

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States