Gluten-Free Yellow Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
OMG!!! This was excellent! Never would I have thought to put mayo in a cake recipe. I made a face when I made the it, but OMG! It's so moist. My sister in law said it was even better than regular cake. I made the Marvelous Canoli cake from "Taste of Home" using this cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
This was the first gluten free recipe I have ever used. A friend with celiac disease was visiting so I made her this cake! In anticipation of the visit I bought gluten-free flour, but had no idea that most recipes use xanthan gum as well. I read that unflavored gelatin could be substituted, so I used 1 T of gelatin in place of xanthan gum. I also used almond milk instead of regular because that's what we keep in our house. The cake was very moist and our gluten-eating friends couldn't tell the difference! 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2011
I thought these cupcakes were wonderful! Best gluten-free cupcake I have tasted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2011
Love this recipe! I did have to figure out how to make it work though. Following different suggestions six different times, I came out with six different results. The best suggestion I can make is to use thai rice flour. It absolutely made all the difference. I did not have to soak it beforehand, and my cake came out fluffy and moist and delicious. I did also follow the suggestion of adjusting the flour to 1 3/4 rice flour and 1/2 tapioca flour, and that worked great too, but the recipe as it is is awesome if you have a very finely ground flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2011
My mom made this for my birthday this year and it is probably the first "vanilla-flavored" gluten-free cake with which I have been pleased.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin Lee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Havelock, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2011
Yum. These are a little springy, which I like a lot more than dry, sandy GF recipes. Everybody who tried them liked them. I use this recipe for cupcakes and layer cakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
This cake was the best gluten free cake ive EVER had! You would never even know it was gf I think it tasted even better than a wheat filled cake it was so good! I did as suggested and mixed flour mixture and milk first (I used rice milk) and I also mixed the batter for 10 min YUMMY :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2011
Super! My son was just diagnosed gluten intolerant and I had to find a cake recipe, since the last bakery gluten free cake was awful. This cake was so good my daughter and husband didn't know it was gluten free! I did use the fine rice flour from a local Asian food market and mixed the milk and rice flour first. This really helped the texture. Other baked items I've made (including other gluten free cakes) have turned out super crumbly and gritty in texture, but the texture was wonderful! This is a real keeper! I also took one cup of the batter out, added cocoa powder and some extra sugar, and used it to make it a marble cake. Super good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2011
As suggested, I beat my batter for 10 minutes to work in the xanthan gum for a non GF texture. Instead of the rice/tapioca flour blend, I used GF Mama Almond Flour Blend and it came out perfect. A word of caution: I've made this once before with a mayo that had garlic powder in the seasoning and could really taste the mayo. This time, my mayo was pretty "pure" and did not taste mayonnaise-y.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2011
Moist, soft, light and fluffy. This cake is as good if not better than wheat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 200) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Gluten-Free Yellow Cake

See how to make a basic yellow cake with no wheat flour.

David’s Yellow Cake

See how to make a moist yellow cake from scratch.

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States