Gluten-Free Yellow Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2012
Growing up, all my family (parents, brother, sister, and I) ever fixed for birthdays was carrot cake or chocolate cake (our attempts at making a gluten-free yellow cake have always failed miserably). My daughter is 7 now and she's had enough; she begged this year for something new. I found this recipe and thought, "why not?" So I tried it (everyone had their doubts), but OMG, I'm so glad I did. Everyone RAVED about the cake, including my daughter! My mom keeps reminding me that I need to give her the recipe! Thank you so much for this AMAZING cake!!! I did as other reviewers suggested and soaked the white rice flour in the milk and vanilla beforehand-- what a great tip!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2012
While it is a bit more coarse than regular yellow cake, it was very good. We were all pretty skeptical when my uncle asked for a gluten free cake for his birthday but it was very good. My grandma made a frosting for it that had whipped cream and greek yogurt and some powdered jello mixed in, having a more flavorful frosting made this cake really quite tasty. I went back for seconds....and thirds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mandy Matthews

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2012
First time baking a GF cake, I thought it tasted a little like moist cornbread. I did mix the milk into the 2 flour/salt/baking sods/powder/gum mix. (Which was a goof up) Has anyone ever mixed the milk into the tapioca flour instead of the rice flour?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2012
I am really impressed with the way this cake turned out! The consistency of the final product is very similar to a typical yellow cake made with regular flour. I followed the recipe exactly the first time and I'm looking forward to adding my own touches in the future! It's great to have a gluten free cake option that tastes good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2012
So glad I found this recipe! This was the 3rd recipe I tried & it was the best! I used Arrowhead Mills GF baking mix in place of the flours but everything else the same. Will try as listed next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kannapolis, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2012
I love this recipe, but since I am so busy, I discovered Bob's Red Mill Vanilla cake mix (for a 8x13 inch cake pan.) Follow the directions. I live at altitude and didn't have to make any adj. Try it.......add bananas for banana cake plus cream cheese frosting, whatever your favorite combo seems to be. This mix is so versatile. I just bought 8 from Amazon at a great price. Ready for every season to make cakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KB

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2012
This cake is amazing! Even if you weren't gluten-free, you would love this! It tastes just like regular cake and it's very moist. Overall, delicious cake recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2012
a bit chewy, but other than that you couldnt even tell they were gluten free! Chock em' up with lots of frosting and they are delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Taylor White

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2012
We love love love this recipe. It is our staple for weekly GF goodies, using it for cookies, muffins, cupcakes too, it is so versatile and delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by POKAHONTAS

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2012
These were so fantastic! I replaced the eggs with buttermilk to make them egg-free as well. They came out light, fluffy and even the non GF people loved them! Everyone wanted the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ramboettrach

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 41-50 (of 200) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Gluten-Free Yellow Cake

See how to make a basic yellow cake with no wheat flour.

David’s Yellow Cake

See how to make a moist yellow cake from scratch.

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States