Gluten-Free Yellow Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
It's so hard to find a gf/df cake that tastes good, like you're not missing out something. This recipe is fantastic, very tasty indeed! I make them with this frosting and together, they make the perfect cupcake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bluucantu

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2012
This cake is very good. I wanted chocolate so I added 1/4 cup of cocoa. I did not have mayonnase (we don't eat it) but I know it's mainly oil so I just substituted the same amount of vegetable oil. I also increased the sugar by 1/4 cup since I added cocoa. I like to bloom my cocoa powder in hot water so I added 3Tbsps of hot water to the cocoa then added it in. The cake was fabulous. I plan to try it as yellow cake soon too and just use oil because I don't buy mayonnaise often. Thanks for posting another great gluten free recipe I am new to gluten free baking because my husband was recently diagnosed and I have only made cakes using a prepackaged mix like Pamela's but this is SO MUCH better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2012
I'm not gluten free but baked these for a baby shower for my friend who is intolerant. Everyone loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by danamiddleton

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2012
very moist. will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2012
Great recipe! Thanks Amy!!! I did as suggested and used 1 3/4 cupe rice flour and 1/2 cups tapioca flour. I also added unsweetened cocoa powder and Earl Grey tea finely ground.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2012
Growing up, all my family (parents, brother, sister, and I) ever fixed for birthdays was carrot cake or chocolate cake (our attempts at making a gluten-free yellow cake have always failed miserably). My daughter is 7 now and she's had enough; she begged this year for something new. I found this recipe and thought, "why not?" So I tried it (everyone had their doubts), but OMG, I'm so glad I did. Everyone RAVED about the cake, including my daughter! My mom keeps reminding me that I need to give her the recipe! Thank you so much for this AMAZING cake!!! I did as other reviewers suggested and soaked the white rice flour in the milk and vanilla beforehand-- what a great tip!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2012
While it is a bit more coarse than regular yellow cake, it was very good. We were all pretty skeptical when my uncle asked for a gluten free cake for his birthday but it was very good. My grandma made a frosting for it that had whipped cream and greek yogurt and some powdered jello mixed in, having a more flavorful frosting made this cake really quite tasty. I went back for seconds....and thirds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2012
First time baking a GF cake, I thought it tasted a little like moist cornbread. I did mix the milk into the 2 flour/salt/baking sods/powder/gum mix. (Which was a goof up) Has anyone ever mixed the milk into the tapioca flour instead of the rice flour?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2012
I am really impressed with the way this cake turned out! The consistency of the final product is very similar to a typical yellow cake made with regular flour. I followed the recipe exactly the first time and I'm looking forward to adding my own touches in the future! It's great to have a gluten free cake option that tastes good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2012
So glad I found this recipe! This was the 3rd recipe I tried & it was the best! I used Arrowhead Mills GF baking mix in place of the flours but everything else the same. Will try as listed next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kannapolis, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 195) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Gluten-Free Yellow Cake

See how to make a basic yellow cake with no wheat flour.

David’s Yellow Cake

See how to make a moist yellow cake from scratch.

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States