Gluten-Free Yellow Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2013
I tastes like a sweetish, chewy rice cracker. Not much flavor at all. I'm looking for a great birthday cake recipe. I don't want a cake that has to have frosting on it though, I want the cake itself to taste great. This one isn't great. It's meh. I'm new to gluten free, and I don't expect to replicate a traditional wheat flour cake but I want it to taste like a dessert, not a breakfast side dish. It might be good with lots of cinnamon roll filling and icing on top. But cake shouldn't need all of that to be good. I also tried the Namaste Foods vanilla cake mix, it was worse than this that's why I'm giving this recipe 3 stars instead of 2. At least this one has potential.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2013
I have been making this cake for many years now...and with that I have played around with the many different ways to bake it. The one thing that is consistant in using this recipe, is soaking the rice flour with the milk/almond milk (whatever you choose) first while combining the other dry ingredients in a seperate bowl. Give the rice flour time to soak in (at least 5 min). I love using ground chia seeds in place of xanthan gum. I have also combined applesauce and rice bran oil in place of the mayonnaise with great results. My 3 boys, who are gfcf, love this cake/cupcakes with seven minute frosting!!! Bravo!!! =-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2013
After looking through all of the top rated reviews, I've made a list of all of their adjustments. I make this cake for my father in law a couple time a year, so I needed a "go-to" review, so I don't have to keep searching for all of these hints. When I make the cake I use all of the tips. 1-add bowl of water to oven to add moisture 2-let rice flour soak in milk for a while to eliminate graininess 3- add 1/3 cup extra sugar 4- mix for 10-12 minutes- no gluten, so cant over mix. Makes it more fluffy 5- make into cupcakes (bake for 19 minutes) I have not tried, but will try... 6- adding 3T of cornstarch for a better consistency 7-add 1/2 cup cocoa to make it chocolate 8- for different flavors- add pkg of jello (boil kind) and decrease sugar by 1/2 cup
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2013
The flavor of this cake was very weird and unpleasant. The texture was pretty bad too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2013
For those having trouble with the texture and consistency, I think if you lessened the xanthan gum to 1/2-3/4 tsp rather than a 1tsp, it will make a big difference. I doubled the recipe and used 1tsp and it turned out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2013
I thought this turned out really well!! I used thai rice flour that I let soak in the milk for 15-20 minutes. I beat the batter for 8-10 minutes and let sit for about 10 minutes prior to baking. Texture great, nice and fluffy I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2013
Well it was gluten free but not like a regular cake. Seemed more like a cheesecake consistency. As suggested I beat with electric beater about 15 minutes and the batter did thicken as a continued to beat it. The flavour was great but a very heavy cake. I used a chocolate fudge icing on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pamjlee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2013
Followed the recipe except, per other reviewers' recommendations, I soaked Bob's brown rice flour in the milk. No grittiness!!!! Also, I substituted 1/3 cup of applesauce and 1/3 cup of butter for the mayonnaise. I creamed the butter, applesauce, and sugar thoroughly. Then I beat each egg in for a minute, one at a time. I added 1 teaspoon of cinnamon, 1/4 teaspoon of ground nutmeg, 1/4 teaspoon of ground cloves, and 1/4 teaspoon of ground ginger to the dry ingredients to make a spice cake. After everything was in the bowl, I let the mixer beat the batter for 10 minutes, as suggested by other reviewers. I divided the batter between two mini-Bundt pans. It took 35 minutes for them to bake. After they were cool, I iced one cake with cinnamon coffee vanilla frosting, a special request. The cake was light and wonderful, a REAL CAKE. The guys, who have had many of my wheat-based cakes, said that this one was the best cake I ever made, wheat or wheat free. You can't get a better complement than that. Thanks for posting the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2013
Tried this recipe to make cupcakes for a baby shower. Delicious!! Many of the guests complimented the taste and texture saying that "for gluten free", they were very good ... wouldn't have known they were not "regular" cupcakes. They kind of have a corn-muffin texture but not gritty. Batter appears much thinner than a wheat-based recipe. Had to bake one cupcake to see if it would rise. No worries ... cupcakes rose beautifully and had good colour. Would definately make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2013
this is my stand by favorite recipe, every time i need a quick cake this is it. I do make some changes on it though - I take out 1/2 cup of the rice flour, and substatute that with 1/4 cup of coconut flour. and also i add some plain yogurt to the milk. works every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Roland, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 203) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Gluten-Free Yellow Cake

See how to make a basic yellow cake with no wheat flour.

David’s Yellow Cake

See how to make a moist yellow cake from scratch.

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States