Gluten-Free Yellow Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
Finally! A gluten free cake that doesnt taste awful! After days of recipe modifying and trying new recipes i was about to give up then i tried this one. I substituted the tapioca flour and white rice flour for Robin Hood's gluten-free flour blend and it came out fine. All the recipes i tried were bland and chalky but this one came out pretty well. Will be using this again for sure :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Victoria22

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wingham, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
Great taste for a Gluten Free Cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JSTWINKLE5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albany, New York, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
I'm so happy to find a gluten free white cake recipe that works!! thank you so much! it never fails and is amazing! even last time I forgot the BP it still got eaten lol.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEOW218

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Summerfield, Prince Edward Island, Canada
Living In: Edson, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
This was so delicious and moist!!! So moist! I did use Bobs gluten free all purpose flour and an egg replacer due to an egg allergy. I did also add a little cinnamon and dang they turned out great!!! I did cupcakes at 350 for about 22 minutes. Yummmm will keep and do again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
I tried this recipe and it was a total flop.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
I just followed this recipe exactly and somehow it turned out with the exact taste and texture of delicious... CORN BREAD! How?! I'm a semi-professional baker and I have no idea what could have gone wrong. It was very important for me to get it right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by funnyfacejess
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
Tastiest GF cake I've ever had or made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2013
I tastes like a sweetish, chewy rice cracker. Not much flavor at all. I'm looking for a great birthday cake recipe. I don't want a cake that has to have frosting on it though, I want the cake itself to taste great. This one isn't great. It's meh. I'm new to gluten free, and I don't expect to replicate a traditional wheat flour cake but I want it to taste like a dessert, not a breakfast side dish. It might be good with lots of cinnamon roll filling and icing on top. But cake shouldn't need all of that to be good. I also tried the Namaste Foods vanilla cake mix, it was worse than this that's why I'm giving this recipe 3 stars instead of 2. At least this one has potential.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2013
I have been making this cake for many years now...and with that I have played around with the many different ways to bake it. The one thing that is consistant in using this recipe, is soaking the rice flour with the milk/almond milk (whatever you choose) first while combining the other dry ingredients in a seperate bowl. Give the rice flour time to soak in (at least 5 min). I love using ground chia seeds in place of xanthan gum. I have also combined applesauce and rice bran oil in place of the mayonnaise with great results. My 3 boys, who are gfcf, love this cake/cupcakes with seven minute frosting!!! Bravo!!! =-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2013
After looking through all of the top rated reviews, I've made a list of all of their adjustments. I make this cake for my father in law a couple time a year, so I needed a "go-to" review, so I don't have to keep searching for all of these hints. When I make the cake I use all of the tips. 1-add bowl of water to oven to add moisture 2-let rice flour soak in milk for a while to eliminate graininess 3- add 1/3 cup extra sugar 4- mix for 10-12 minutes- no gluten, so cant over mix. Makes it more fluffy 5- make into cupcakes (bake for 19 minutes) I have not tried, but will try... 6- adding 3T of cornstarch for a better consistency 7-add 1/2 cup cocoa to make it chocolate 8- for different flavors- add pkg of jello (boil kind) and decrease sugar by 1/2 cup
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 200) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Gluten-Free Yellow Cake

See how to make a basic yellow cake with no wheat flour.

David’s Yellow Cake

See how to make a moist yellow cake from scratch.

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States