Gluten-Free Yellow Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2006
I made this twice so far. The first time I used regular rice flour that I buy from an organic store. It turned out well...but you could tell it was "gluten-free". The second time, I used a rice flour I bought from an asian market...it's made in Thailand, and it is ground superfine (it was rice flour, not to be confused with sweet rice flour). It worked much better, and it tasted like the real deal. This is an excellent recipe, as long as you use superfine rice flour. (I've started using the superfine rice flour for all baked goods, and it makes a HUGE difference.)------------------------------------------------------------ Also, try adjusting the flours to 1 3/4 cup Thai rice flour and 1/2 tapioca flour. I just did a side by side comparison of this (chocolate cake version) and a boxed Pillsbury chocolate cake. The texture of the gf cake is pretty good (no longer the chewy texture of the original recipe.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
549 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2007
Tried this recipe and found it to be very good. It can be adapted for many other desserts. I made pineapple upside down cake. I also mixed the milk with the rice flour while preparing other ingrediets and I found by doing this one step, the cake had a good texture. I also add a bowl of water to my oven while cooking gluten free as it adds moisture and baked goods tend to be less dry. great success with this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
267 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2007
I made this into a blueberry streusel coffeecake by sprinkling the top with frozen blueberries (unthawed) and topping that with a streusel mixture I made up of 1/4 c. melted butter, 1/2 c. white sugar, and 3/4 c. rice flour. Baked it in a 9x13 pan for 30-35 minutes until it tests done with toothpick. Note, too, to eliminate the graininess of the rice flour, combine it with the milk and let sit while you mix rest of ingredients. Rice absorbs the moisture and becomes non-gritty. works in most recipes using rice flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
229 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2002
This recipe works out great. I decrease the amount of sugar by 1/2 cup and substitute a box of Jello powder. My daughter loves it and she gets to choose which "flavour" of cake we will have every time (lemon, strawberry etc). I only use the Jello powder that calls for boiling water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
120 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2007
I unfortunately can't eat wheat, so I made GF cupcakes as well as normal cupcakes for my boyfriend's birthday. These turned out just as good as the wheat flour-based cupcakes. His fraternity brothers actually preferred the GF cupcakes! I followed the suggestions of previous reviewers and added 1/3 cup more sugar and 1/2 cup unsweetened coco powder to make chocolate cupcakes. I cooked them for about 19 minutes. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
104 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by devolution587

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bellevue, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2005
WOW!!WOW!!WOW!! This is a fantastic recipe. It is very yummy and extremely easy to make. I made it with my young daughter and we turned it into cupcakes. Amazingly, unlike many gluten-free recipes, it does not crumble. We did alter the flour a bit -- 1/2 c brown rice flour, 3/4 cup white rice flour, 1/2 cup sorghum flour, and 1/2 c tapioca flour. Thank you for such a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
103 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2007
I made this in the new silcone baking dish and didn't need to flour the the pan. I took anothers reviewers suggestion and added the milk to the rice flour while I combined the other ingredients. It lost 90% of it's graininess. Great suggestion. My husband who isn't celiac loved the cake. It's a great recipe to have fun with. I baked the whole recipe in one pan for a taller cake with less crust. I have sliced it in half and made a Boston Cream pie out of it. I think this can be adapted to make many of your favorites if you use your imagination.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2006
Rather than xanthan gum (way too expensive!), can use guar gum (runs $4.99/lb in my area and can usually buy small packages for under $2 at health food stores). Cake turned out fine, except my batter was thin and I had to pour it rather than spread it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2002
I added a 1/c cup cocoa powder and a little extra sugar to compensate for the bitterness of the cocoa and made cup cakes. My son just gobbled them up! No frosting need. Yum! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2005
Thank you, Amy, and thank you, fellow reviewers. I used this recipe for my neighbor's kid, and it totally passed the five-year-old test. I added 1/2 c cocoa to the dry ingredients, upped the sugar to 1 1/2 c, and used Vanilla Rice Dream. And I used canola spray to grease the pans. The batter was pudding-like, the final product moist and even spongy. I used a pastry brush to whisk off the rice flour grains from the cooked layers, since the cake is VERY delicate. Oh, and xanthan gum costs a mint!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 196) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Gluten-Free Yellow Cake

See how to make a basic yellow cake with no wheat flour.

David’s Yellow Cake

See how to make a moist yellow cake from scratch.

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States