Gluten-Free Yellow Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
Wow - a really good GF cake! Soaking the rice flour in milk first truly does make a positive difference. You can easily cut this in half, and it is a great vanilla cake with no gritty feel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
I have just recently gone gluten free. I always have baked goods in the house so when I found this recipe I gave it a shot. What a wonderful taste and texture! Everyone in the family loves it including the kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
This is the best cake I've had since being GF, and that is around 3 years. Its incredibly light and fluffy. It would be really easy to make it lemon cake as well. just replace vanilla with lemon extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
I used Bob's Red Mill all-purpose flour for the flour, Splenda for the sugar, soy milk for the milk and 1/3 cup light mayo and 1/3 cup applesauce for the mayo. Very nice texture and flavor. Cupcakes were done in 15 minutes. UPDATE: I made these again, but added 2 Tbs. cocoa powder to 1-1/2 cup of the batter and made marble cupcakes....they came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUZZANNA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
I used Almond Flour and Almond milk. Then for my frosting it was Earth Balance Soy free buttery spread, Almond milk, vanilla and powdered sugar with blue/green food coloring. They turned out awesome. You couldn't tell that they were GFCF. I made them into mini cupcakes and we have enjoyed them for a few days after my sons birthday. Awesome recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
The trick to getting a fluffy gluten free cake is to mix the batter for a long time... like 10 to 12 minutes. The reason people usually don't mix that long is so gluten in regular baking doesn't build up. However, in gluten free baking there is no such worry, and mixing it for a long time is what will give in a really good consistency. For an even better consistency, add about 3 T of cornstarch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blossom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
I make this all the time and don't change a thing. Wonderful! So glad to have this recipe and I top it with a French Chocolate Frosting. I recently made this with Soy milk rather than coconut milk and it wasn't nearly as good. With Coconut milk I get a fine texture and great taste (you don't taste coconut at all). Back to Coconut milk and we like this better than boxed cake mix or scratch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Carlsbad, California, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
These are flavorless and gummy. So bummed. I know I can't compare these to regular flour cupcakes but I will compare them to Betty Crocker's Gluten Free Yellow cake. Also, they stick to the cupcake papers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by XLOVE33

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
This is a GREAT cake recipe! Moist and yummy as the recipe states. Make sure your GF flour is finely ground or you'll taste some grit/crunch. I used brown rice flour instead of white just because that is what I had it was super tasty. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
this was a very good recipe! I made it for a child's birthday. I made them cupcakes, put super fine chopped strawberrys into the batter before i cooked it. after it was cooled i stuffed with vanilla or banana pudding, and covered it with cool whip! it was wonderful, and light! thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Poquoson, Virginia, USA
Living In: Collinsville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 201) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Gluten-Free Yellow Cake

See how to make a basic yellow cake with no wheat flour.

David’s Yellow Cake

See how to make a moist yellow cake from scratch.

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States