Gluten-Free Yellow Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
I make this all the time and don't change a thing. Wonderful! So glad to have this recipe and I top it with a French Chocolate Frosting. I recently made this with Soy milk rather than coconut milk and it wasn't nearly as good. With Coconut milk I get a fine texture and great taste (you don't taste coconut at all). Back to Coconut milk and we like this better than boxed cake mix or scratch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Carlsbad, California, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
These are flavorless and gummy. So bummed. I know I can't compare these to regular flour cupcakes but I will compare them to Betty Crocker's Gluten Free Yellow cake. Also, they stick to the cupcake papers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by XLOVE33

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
This is a GREAT cake recipe! Moist and yummy as the recipe states. Make sure your GF flour is finely ground or you'll taste some grit/crunch. I used brown rice flour instead of white just because that is what I had it was super tasty. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
this was a very good recipe! I made it for a child's birthday. I made them cupcakes, put super fine chopped strawberrys into the batter before i cooked it. after it was cooled i stuffed with vanilla or banana pudding, and covered it with cool whip! it was wonderful, and light! thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Poquoson, Virginia, USA
Living In: Collinsville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
Best GF Yellow Cake I have tasted. I love it and my family loves ut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mrs. Jennifer
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
Wow! My son is allergic to gluten so I made these just for him and they are as good as any cake I've ever tasted. Thanks for posting. I didn't have the tapioca flour so I just put some tapioca in my coffee grinder and made my own. It worked great! I also used coconut milk instead of regular milk and then frosted 'em with 7-minute frosting and coconut. They are so, so, so good. I'll definitely be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Jennifer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Riverside, California, USA
Living In: Calico Rock, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
I usually make regular cakes every christmas. However, this year my sister-in-law is coming over for christmas and only eats gluten free. I tried this recipe with the addition of cinnamon, nutmeg, allspice, ginger and applesauce. It tasted like a delicious spice bread rather than cake. It came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
Best GF cake EVER. It's my go-to birthday cake recipe. I NEVER use rice flour (too gritty!) so I did make a substitution. I used a mix that has coconut in it which helped to make this a bit more sweet than it might have been. No one would ever realize this is GF--if you use the right flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
Very good for a gluten free recipe. I always let my mixes with rice flour sit for a while to let it soak up the moisture. I rarely get a graining recipe now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2010
Great texture and flavor! I did follow the advise of another reviewer and put a bowl of water in the oven and let the rice flour sit in the milk while mixing the rest. I substituded soy flour for the tapioca flour and used guar gum instead of xanthan gum. I also substituted applesauce for the mayonnaise and it turned out beautifully. Also works well if you had 1/2 cup cocoa to make it chocolate. No need to add extra sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 195) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Gluten-Free Yellow Cake

See how to make a basic yellow cake with no wheat flour.

David’s Yellow Cake

See how to make a moist yellow cake from scratch.

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States