Gluten-Free Yellow Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2011
Pretty good but does taste a bit dry as is normal though from Gluten free. I will make again though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by M. Scicluna

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2011
This is a fabulous recipe! I always change it a little bit to make it vegan and it turns out perfectly each time. I make this for company all the time and it's always a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2011
YUM! I have made this recipe exactly as written twice now and it turned out perfectly both times! It is WAY better than the six dollar box of Betty Crocker yellow cake, and it is a snap to make! THANK YOU!! Also - for cupcakes, I've found you bake them for 14-16 minutes. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2011
I took some peoples advise and used rice flour from an Asian market. While I was in there I asked the woman how they bake with rice flour and she said to use 2 parts rice flour to 1 part sweet rice flour. Also since my son can not have milk I used almond milk. It came out great. And last I could not find xanthan gum so I used 2 tsp on corn starch instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
Wow - a really good GF cake! Soaking the rice flour in milk first truly does make a positive difference. You can easily cut this in half, and it is a great vanilla cake with no gritty feel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
I have just recently gone gluten free. I always have baked goods in the house so when I found this recipe I gave it a shot. What a wonderful taste and texture! Everyone in the family loves it including the kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
This is the best cake I've had since being GF, and that is around 3 years. Its incredibly light and fluffy. It would be really easy to make it lemon cake as well. just replace vanilla with lemon extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
I used Bob's Red Mill all-purpose flour for the flour, Splenda for the sugar, soy milk for the milk and 1/3 cup light mayo and 1/3 cup applesauce for the mayo. Very nice texture and flavor. Cupcakes were done in 15 minutes. UPDATE: I made these again, but added 2 Tbs. cocoa powder to 1-1/2 cup of the batter and made marble cupcakes....they came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUZZANNA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
I used Almond Flour and Almond milk. Then for my frosting it was Earth Balance Soy free buttery spread, Almond milk, vanilla and powdered sugar with blue/green food coloring. They turned out awesome. You couldn't tell that they were GFCF. I made them into mini cupcakes and we have enjoyed them for a few days after my sons birthday. Awesome recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
The trick to getting a fluffy gluten free cake is to mix the batter for a long time... like 10 to 12 minutes. The reason people usually don't mix that long is so gluten in regular baking doesn't build up. However, in gluten free baking there is no such worry, and mixing it for a long time is what will give in a really good consistency. For an even better consistency, add about 3 T of cornstarch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blossom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 195) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Gluten-Free Yellow Cake

See how to make a basic yellow cake with no wheat flour.

David’s Yellow Cake

See how to make a moist yellow cake from scratch.

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States