Gluten-Free Yellow Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2012
We love love love this recipe. It is our staple for weekly GF goodies, using it for cookies, muffins, cupcakes too, it is so versatile and delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by POKAHONTAS

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2012
These were so fantastic! I replaced the eggs with buttermilk to make them egg-free as well. They came out light, fluffy and even the non GF people loved them! Everyone wanted the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ramboettrach

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2012
I just made this cake today and it is the best gluten free baked good I have made thus far. I am a great baker, but fairly new to gluten free baking, and this was easy to throw together. I took others advice and soaked my flour in milk first, however, I may have misunderstood, I soaked both the rice and tapioca flour, tried to stir it together and it formed a paste which caused hard lumps that never went away. Next time, I will only soak the rice flour. Even with an occasional lump in the cupcakes, the cake was great, and it didn't taste gluten free, which i appreciate. I also added a pan with water to the oven while the cakes baked and beat the batter for 11 minutes. The cupcakes came out really fluffy and my husband, who is not gluten intolerant loved them! The only complaint I have is that although fluffy, I wish they were slightly more moist, and I think the vanilla needs to be increased just a tad. All in all, a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Belem

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2012
Love this recipe! Easy to adapt to be dairy free as well! My go to recipe for reliable results!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2012
I am new to gluten-free but the reviews were so good with this recipe that I decided to try it for our grandson's birthday (cupcakes). The flavor is great but even though I beat the batter for 11 minutes, I still got a grainy texture. I used part rice-flour and part glutinous rice flour (total of 1 3/4 cups and 1/2 cups tapioca flour. Any suggestions? It is now the day after, and after letting the cupcakes sit, the graininess went away and the flavor and texture (though dense) was wonderful. However, the cupcakes did shrink into a biscuit like shape....not cupcake like.l I don't know if the baking time should have been longer or if perhaps I should have beat the batter longer, but it did work, and even the grownups were impressed. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
I made this following the blueberry streusel idea in a 13x9 pan. However I did not have xanthan gum and I was too lazy to go to the store.... I also failed to beat the eggs and sugar until fluffy. Huh hmm...after about an hour into cooking, I took it out. The streusel fell below the surface and it tasted like blueberry cobbler and it was delicious! I think I will follow directions next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2012
I made these last weekend and they were a hit. The only thing I didn't like was that the tops of the muffins seem "sticky" and sort of "wet." I made too much batter and refrigerated the rest. They next day the batter was SUPER thick where I had to spoon it out into the cupcake liners. Surprisingly, the refrigerated batch was better than the "fresh" batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2012
Easy peasy... With great results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2012
This was so delicious!!! I was so skeptical about the mayo in the recipe but decided to give it a try. The batter was runny too before I cooked it, but it came out wonderful! I will definitely make this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winooski, Vermont, USA
Living In: Amherst, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
I Just want to say "Thank You Soooo Much " to all reviewers. This cake and all your suggestions made the best birthday cake ever for my 11 year old son. He has just recently been diagnosed with Celiac. We have really struggled with breads&boxed cake mixes. He so wanted a real birthday cake! I read and took notes from all the reviews (my husband thougth I was insane taking notes for hours) and it was better than any cake we could have had, gluten or not. I have never in my life written a review,however,this was so exciting I had to share. I made 1 1/2 batches, so will just give the jest of what I used. I ...#1 soaked Bob's Red Mill Brown rice in warm vanilla Silk in place of milk, combined a bit of Sour cream to Mayo measurement, decreased rice flour a bit and made up difference with sweet sorghum, increased sugar as suggested, beat for 11 minutes, took out a cup of batter & added coco and sugar to taste...to marble with, baked with water in a cookie sheet on rack below. Poured into 2 9x13, once baked & cooled, added a layer of vanilla pudding with mini chocolate chips, placed 2nd 9x13 on top, lightly frosted with light cream icing, and covered with chocolate fondant. IT WAS AMAZING!! MOIST, GREAT TEXTURE AND TASTY! The only complaint I had was on the fondant!!! That right there made this a huge success for me!! We truly only had about 1/4 of the cake left and the next day it was just as good if not better!! THANK YOU EVERYONE!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 202) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Gluten-Free Yellow Cake

See how to make a basic yellow cake with no wheat flour.

David’s Yellow Cake

See how to make a moist yellow cake from scratch.

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States