Gluten-Free Yellow Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2012
Easy peasy... With great results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2012
This was so delicious!!! I was so skeptical about the mayo in the recipe but decided to give it a try. The batter was runny too before I cooked it, but it came out wonderful! I will definitely make this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winooski, Vermont, USA
Living In: Amherst, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
I Just want to say "Thank You Soooo Much " to all reviewers. This cake and all your suggestions made the best birthday cake ever for my 11 year old son. He has just recently been diagnosed with Celiac. We have really struggled with breads&boxed cake mixes. He so wanted a real birthday cake! I read and took notes from all the reviews (my husband thougth I was insane taking notes for hours) and it was better than any cake we could have had, gluten or not. I have never in my life written a review,however,this was so exciting I had to share. I made 1 1/2 batches, so will just give the jest of what I used. I ...#1 soaked Bob's Red Mill Brown rice in warm vanilla Silk in place of milk, combined a bit of Sour cream to Mayo measurement, decreased rice flour a bit and made up difference with sweet sorghum, increased sugar as suggested, beat for 11 minutes, took out a cup of batter & added coco and sugar to taste...to marble with, baked with water in a cookie sheet on rack below. Poured into 2 9x13, once baked & cooled, added a layer of vanilla pudding with mini chocolate chips, placed 2nd 9x13 on top, lightly frosted with light cream icing, and covered with chocolate fondant. IT WAS AMAZING!! MOIST, GREAT TEXTURE AND TASTY! The only complaint I had was on the fondant!!! That right there made this a huge success for me!! We truly only had about 1/4 of the cake left and the next day it was just as good if not better!! THANK YOU EVERYONE!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
Simply Deliciouse!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fine bunch
Home Town: Elizabeth, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
I was so happy to find such a delicious GF cake recipe when my daughter was first dx with celiac!(: Everyone has loved this cake when I've made it. Thank you!(:
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
OMG!!! This was excellent! Never would I have thought to put mayo in a cake recipe. I made a face when I made the it, but OMG! It's so moist. My sister in law said it was even better than regular cake. I made the Marvelous Canoli cake from "Taste of Home" using this cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
This was the first gluten free recipe I have ever used. A friend with celiac disease was visiting so I made her this cake! In anticipation of the visit I bought gluten-free flour, but had no idea that most recipes use xanthan gum as well. I read that unflavored gelatin could be substituted, so I used 1 T of gelatin in place of xanthan gum. I also used almond milk instead of regular because that's what we keep in our house. The cake was very moist and our gluten-eating friends couldn't tell the difference! 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2011
I thought these cupcakes were wonderful! Best gluten-free cupcake I have tasted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2011
Love this recipe! I did have to figure out how to make it work though. Following different suggestions six different times, I came out with six different results. The best suggestion I can make is to use thai rice flour. It absolutely made all the difference. I did not have to soak it beforehand, and my cake came out fluffy and moist and delicious. I did also follow the suggestion of adjusting the flour to 1 3/4 rice flour and 1/2 tapioca flour, and that worked great too, but the recipe as it is is awesome if you have a very finely ground flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2011
My mom made this for my birthday this year and it is probably the first "vanilla-flavored" gluten-free cake with which I have been pleased.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin Lee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Havelock, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 195) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Gluten-Free Yellow Cake

See how to make a basic yellow cake with no wheat flour.

David’s Yellow Cake

See how to make a moist yellow cake from scratch.

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States