Gluten-Free Yellow Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2012
I am really impressed with the way this cake turned out! The consistency of the final product is very similar to a typical yellow cake made with regular flour. I followed the recipe exactly the first time and I'm looking forward to adding my own touches in the future! It's great to have a gluten free cake option that tastes good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2012
So glad I found this recipe! This was the 3rd recipe I tried & it was the best! I used Arrowhead Mills GF baking mix in place of the flours but everything else the same. Will try as listed next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kannapolis, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2012
I love this recipe, but since I am so busy, I discovered Bob's Red Mill Vanilla cake mix (for a 8x13 inch cake pan.) Follow the directions. I live at altitude and didn't have to make any adj. Try it.......add bananas for banana cake plus cream cheese frosting, whatever your favorite combo seems to be. This mix is so versatile. I just bought 8 from Amazon at a great price. Ready for every season to make cakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KB

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2012
This cake is amazing! Even if you weren't gluten-free, you would love this! It tastes just like regular cake and it's very moist. Overall, delicious cake recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2012
a bit chewy, but other than that you couldnt even tell they were gluten free! Chock em' up with lots of frosting and they are delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Taylor White

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2012
We love love love this recipe. It is our staple for weekly GF goodies, using it for cookies, muffins, cupcakes too, it is so versatile and delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by POKAHONTAS

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2012
These were so fantastic! I replaced the eggs with buttermilk to make them egg-free as well. They came out light, fluffy and even the non GF people loved them! Everyone wanted the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ramboettrach

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2012
I just made this cake today and it is the best gluten free baked good I have made thus far. I am a great baker, but fairly new to gluten free baking, and this was easy to throw together. I took others advice and soaked my flour in milk first, however, I may have misunderstood, I soaked both the rice and tapioca flour, tried to stir it together and it formed a paste which caused hard lumps that never went away. Next time, I will only soak the rice flour. Even with an occasional lump in the cupcakes, the cake was great, and it didn't taste gluten free, which i appreciate. I also added a pan with water to the oven while the cakes baked and beat the batter for 11 minutes. The cupcakes came out really fluffy and my husband, who is not gluten intolerant loved them! The only complaint I have is that although fluffy, I wish they were slightly more moist, and I think the vanilla needs to be increased just a tad. All in all, a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Belem

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2012
Love this recipe! Easy to adapt to be dairy free as well! My go to recipe for reliable results!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2012
I am new to gluten-free but the reviews were so good with this recipe that I decided to try it for our grandson's birthday (cupcakes). The flavor is great but even though I beat the batter for 11 minutes, I still got a grainy texture. I used part rice-flour and part glutinous rice flour (total of 1 3/4 cups and 1/2 cups tapioca flour. Any suggestions? It is now the day after, and after letting the cupcakes sit, the graininess went away and the flavor and texture (though dense) was wonderful. However, the cupcakes did shrink into a biscuit like shape....not cupcake like.l I don't know if the baking time should have been longer or if perhaps I should have beat the batter longer, but it did work, and even the grownups were impressed. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 197) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Gluten-Free Yellow Cake

See how to make a basic yellow cake with no wheat flour.

David’s Yellow Cake

See how to make a moist yellow cake from scratch.

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States