Gluten-Free Yellow Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2013
The flavor of this cake was very weird and unpleasant. The texture was pretty bad too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2013
For those having trouble with the texture and consistency, I think if you lessened the xanthan gum to 1/2-3/4 tsp rather than a 1tsp, it will make a big difference. I doubled the recipe and used 1tsp and it turned out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2013
I thought this turned out really well!! I used thai rice flour that I let soak in the milk for 15-20 minutes. I beat the batter for 8-10 minutes and let sit for about 10 minutes prior to baking. Texture great, nice and fluffy I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2013
Well it was gluten free but not like a regular cake. Seemed more like a cheesecake consistency. As suggested I beat with electric beater about 15 minutes and the batter did thicken as a continued to beat it. The flavour was great but a very heavy cake. I used a chocolate fudge icing on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pamjlee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2013
Followed the recipe except, per other reviewers' recommendations, I soaked Bob's brown rice flour in the milk. No grittiness!!!! Also, I substituted 1/3 cup of applesauce and 1/3 cup of butter for the mayonnaise. I creamed the butter, applesauce, and sugar thoroughly. Then I beat each egg in for a minute, one at a time. I added 1 teaspoon of cinnamon, 1/4 teaspoon of ground nutmeg, 1/4 teaspoon of ground cloves, and 1/4 teaspoon of ground ginger to the dry ingredients to make a spice cake. After everything was in the bowl, I let the mixer beat the batter for 10 minutes, as suggested by other reviewers. I divided the batter between two mini-Bundt pans. It took 35 minutes for them to bake. After they were cool, I iced one cake with cinnamon coffee vanilla frosting, a special request. The cake was light and wonderful, a REAL CAKE. The guys, who have had many of my wheat-based cakes, said that this one was the best cake I ever made, wheat or wheat free. You can't get a better complement than that. Thanks for posting the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2013
Tried this recipe to make cupcakes for a baby shower. Delicious!! Many of the guests complimented the taste and texture saying that "for gluten free", they were very good ... wouldn't have known they were not "regular" cupcakes. They kind of have a corn-muffin texture but not gritty. Batter appears much thinner than a wheat-based recipe. Had to bake one cupcake to see if it would rise. No worries ... cupcakes rose beautifully and had good colour. Would definately make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2013
this is my stand by favorite recipe, every time i need a quick cake this is it. I do make some changes on it though - I take out 1/2 cup of the rice flour, and substatute that with 1/4 cup of coconut flour. and also i add some plain yogurt to the milk. works every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Roland, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2013
We made this cake with a homemade chocolate frosting. The cake was great, nearly as good as a flour based cake. We followed the recipe exactly, and made sure to frost it as soon as it had cooled. We are eating the remains of the cake 4 days later and it still is pretty good (we kept it sealed in Tupperware. Would definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
Simply amazing, especially since we've been making it DAIRY FREE also!! Using almond milk for milk and beating egg-sugar-mayo very well has made a cake that could pass for regular! WOW!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2013
This is a great recipe. I've made two changes to suit my taste. First, I use coconut milk because it has more fat, which adds more moisture. I also let the batter set for about thirty minutes so the rice flour can absorb some of the liquid before cooking. I find that it makes it more moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smalorious

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Riverside, California, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 200) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Gluten-Free Yellow Cake

See how to make a basic yellow cake with no wheat flour.

David’s Yellow Cake

See how to make a moist yellow cake from scratch.

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States