Gluten-Free Yellow Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2009
Just as good as the real thing! And way better than any boxed stuff for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
This wasn't the dense brick that I've experienced with a lot of gluten-free cakes, but it still had some issues. I agree that it was bland, but that is an easy fix (add more flavorings or doctor it after it is baked). The problem I had is that it was really sticky and sort of chewy. As someone who doesn't typically cook GF, I don't know if this is normal. I tried soaking the rice flour in the milk as others had suggested. I also added the tapioca and eggs to soften the tapioca as well. When I went to add the other ingredients, it was so thick I could hardly stir it, so I added a 1/2 cup of water. I think that was a bit much as it was a tad runnier than a normal batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tara Nichol Thomas

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Jordan, Utah, USA
Living In: Antelope, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2009
The best gluten-free cake I've ever tasted. I made this for my sister's birthday. I followed sweetcook's suggessted mix of flours, and it rose beautifully. I flavored the cake with 2 tsp. of almond flavoring, and 1 tsp. of vanilla. I made almond flavored butter cream frosting, and it was a big hit. For a garnish, I ground some almonds in the food processor along with a dash of almong flavoring and light brown sugar, and dusted the top and sides of the cake. Can't wait to make a new flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2009
Not impressed with this cake at all. Very bland flavor...needed super good frosting to carry it off. I've been baking GF for 8+ years and this is not a great recipe compared to others that are out there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2009
Kid approved! My daughter wanted her celiac friend to be able to eat her birthday cake. My son and father are also celiacs all approved. Many said it was the best yellow cake they have tasted. Every gluten free cake I have tried so far is too rich in chocolate or strange in texture and not appealing to kids, but this is a cake for everyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2009
I made this recipe for the first time 2 days ago and made cupcakes and a cake. I am the only person in my family diagnosed with Celiac disease. I made this for my son's b-day and was worried no one would like it, but they ate all but once small slice of the cake! Everyone LOVED it. Several people ate 2 slices. I followed the exact recipe and I did soak the rice flour in the milk. It was not grainy at all and was much better than the gluten free cake mixes I have made. I used the cake doctor's caramel icing recipe. I am so thankful to have a gluten free cake that doesn't taste gluten free!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2009
I was very pleased with the texture of this cake. I made "strawberry" by taking another suggestion and adding strawberry gelatin (just a couple of tsp). I used this for Gluten Free Cake Balls and it turned out excellent! Thanks so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Danville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
This recipe is wonderful! I used it to make a pineapple upside-down cake. I substituted half a cup of pineapple juice for half of the milk and put the pineapple rings at the bottom of the pans. I also coated the pans with sugar rather than flour. I couldn't find tapioca flour, so I substituted the same amount of cornstarch. It took about 10-15 minutes longer to bake (probably from the juice in the batter), but it was heavenly--very moist, and it didn't taste gluten-free. I'll definitely use this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, Virginia, USA
Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2009
This cake came out so moist you can easily forget it is gluten-free! In my cupcakes I used 1 cup white rice flour and 1/2 cup sweet sorghum flour. Since we are also a diary free family, I used vanilla hemp milk. I followed the advice of another reviewer and added a bowl of water to the oven while baking. They turned out beautiful! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2009
I made these in cupcakes and my kid who is on a gluten free diet loves them! Thank you for making a 3 year old happy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 200) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Gluten-Free Yellow Cake

See how to make a basic yellow cake with no wheat flour.

David’s Yellow Cake

See how to make a moist yellow cake from scratch.

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States