Gluten-Free Yellow Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2009
Not impressed with this cake at all. Very bland flavor...needed super good frosting to carry it off. I've been baking GF for 8+ years and this is not a great recipe compared to others that are out there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2009
Kid approved! My daughter wanted her celiac friend to be able to eat her birthday cake. My son and father are also celiacs all approved. Many said it was the best yellow cake they have tasted. Every gluten free cake I have tried so far is too rich in chocolate or strange in texture and not appealing to kids, but this is a cake for everyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2009
I made this recipe for the first time 2 days ago and made cupcakes and a cake. I am the only person in my family diagnosed with Celiac disease. I made this for my son's b-day and was worried no one would like it, but they ate all but once small slice of the cake! Everyone LOVED it. Several people ate 2 slices. I followed the exact recipe and I did soak the rice flour in the milk. It was not grainy at all and was much better than the gluten free cake mixes I have made. I used the cake doctor's caramel icing recipe. I am so thankful to have a gluten free cake that doesn't taste gluten free!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2009
I was very pleased with the texture of this cake. I made "strawberry" by taking another suggestion and adding strawberry gelatin (just a couple of tsp). I used this for Gluten Free Cake Balls and it turned out excellent! Thanks so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Danville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
This recipe is wonderful! I used it to make a pineapple upside-down cake. I substituted half a cup of pineapple juice for half of the milk and put the pineapple rings at the bottom of the pans. I also coated the pans with sugar rather than flour. I couldn't find tapioca flour, so I substituted the same amount of cornstarch. It took about 10-15 minutes longer to bake (probably from the juice in the batter), but it was heavenly--very moist, and it didn't taste gluten-free. I'll definitely use this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, Virginia, USA
Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2009
This cake came out so moist you can easily forget it is gluten-free! In my cupcakes I used 1 cup white rice flour and 1/2 cup sweet sorghum flour. Since we are also a diary free family, I used vanilla hemp milk. I followed the advice of another reviewer and added a bowl of water to the oven while baking. They turned out beautiful! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2009
I made these in cupcakes and my kid who is on a gluten free diet loves them! Thank you for making a 3 year old happy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2009
My favorite yellow cake! I have known I'm wheat allergic for years, so I'm familiar with the price of xanthan gum (and many other wheat-free items). I use a couple other suggestions that seem to really make it much better: -Soak rice flour in milk while combining other ingredients -Put some water in an oven-proof bowl and place in the oven with the cake pans to help keep cake moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lea Melton

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2009
This was wonderful! Easy to make with staples that I had on hand. Didn't require many different or exotic flours. Several days after baking, the cupcakes (in an airtight container) were still moist and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2008
I agree with the adding milk to the rice flour and letting it sit while preparing everything else. That will work beautifully. Other than that - the author mentions "gluten free" baking powder. I can assure you - baking powder IS gluten free. My friend is extremely sensitive to gluten and has zero issues with it. Don't waste money on organic baking powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine Gofron

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bolingbrook, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 197) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Gluten-Free Yellow Cake

See how to make a basic yellow cake with no wheat flour.

David’s Yellow Cake

See how to make a moist yellow cake from scratch.

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States