Gluten-Free Yellow Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
OMG! This tastes better than Duncan Hines, better that a cake shop. A cross between a pound cake/Hostess twinkie and heaven. I tried soaking the rice flour in the milk, great tip. This cake is moist, spongy and is wedding cake worthy. Even better than my mother-in-laws homemade (gluten) cake. Don't tell her I said so!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by heyrosie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2010
This cake was really nice and moist. I did not soak my rice in milk (used Bob's Red Mill Brown Rice, which is not grainy) nor did I add water to the oven. I wanted a lemon cake, so I added a small box of lemon jello to the mix. I did not decrease or increase any ingredient and it came out perfect! I loved how fluffy the cake came out, how moist it was and how it did not taste like it was gluten free!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2010
The first time I made it it was just a touch dry. The next time I doubled the recipe to make a sheet cake and I added 1 cup of sour cream to add some extra moistness to it. It was served at my 2 year old's birthday party and no one new it was gluten free! I really tasted great : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2010
This cake was fantastic! I actually cut the recipe into a third and made a 3" tall cake in a 6" pan. It turned out wonderful. I did as other people suggested and combined the milk and rice flour first. Great recipe! Looking forward to turning it into a chocolate recipe as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2010
I followed Eli's suggestion and used the superfine rice flour with the amounts of rice flour and tapioca flour he suggested and it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
This is a lovely, light, cake that I'd probably make for anyone whether they have celiac disease or not. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dianne
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2010
Not bad for gluten-free! I've had some commercially-made gluten-free products and I would say these are on par with those. My only complaint is that they are a little "rubbery." Otherwise they are light, airy and moist and have a very nice flavor. I made 1/2 recipe, which made 12 cupcakes. I frosted them with "Chocolate Frosting I" from this site. If you can't eat wheat (I'm wheat-free right now as part of an elimination diet), then definitely give these a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2010
I love this recipe, it turns out perfect every time I make it! My little boy can't have milk either, so I use coconut milk instead. It's so nice to have a really good cake for him to enjoy. Thanks so much for sharing it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Joanne
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
Very yummy! Moist & spongy! Definitely will keep this recipe at the top of the pile!! We all enjoyed and even my non-gluten free husband said they were the best GF item he's ever had! We made them into cupcakes for my son's birthday. Also added 2/3c. cocoa to make them into chocolate cupcakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joanne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Schoolcraft, Michigan, USA
Living In: Kent City, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2010
great cake! had a request for gluten free strawberry cake. took advice from another reviewer and decreased the sugar by 1/2 cup and added pack of strawberry jello. Makes a pretty pink cake :) I use 2 9inch pans. I make fresh whipped cream and use that and fresh sliced strawberries between and on top of layers. Made as cupcakes once too...still topped with whipped cream and sliced berries. everyone loves this cake, gluten free eaters and everyone else too! i buy my flours from the asian market....cheaper and finer flours. I also soak the flours in the milk while I get everything else together...another recommendation from another reviewer! great recipe :) thanks! oh, I do decrease the vanilla to about 1 1/2 tsp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 203) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Gluten-Free Yellow Cake

See how to make a basic yellow cake with no wheat flour.

David’s Yellow Cake

See how to make a moist yellow cake from scratch.

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States