Gluten-Free Yellow Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 29, 2015
This was great! I used 2 1/4 cup Krusteaz all purpose flour, added two bananas and substituted almond extract for the vanilla extract. We stacked the two cakes, with a vanilla pudding in between, and topped it off with a cream cheese frosting. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2015
I did not care for this recipe. I reduced the mayonnaise to 1/2 cup so the cakes would not be greasy, and used less xanthan gum (1/4 tsp) so the texture would be more appealing. For only two cups of dry ingredients, I think four eggs are twice as many as needed to hold it all together. I would substitute 1/4 cup of almond, cashew or coconut flour for an equivalent amount of the rice flour to create a more crumbly texture, use 1/2 cup cornstarch (functions as a binder) and only 1/4 cup tapioca flour (to mimic the gluten). I'd also use only two eggs, separating them and whipping the whites until stiff, then gently folding them into the batter just before pouring into the paper-lined cupcake pan or parchment-lined cake pans. These changes would give it a lighter texture and a more "cake-like" crumb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Whittier, California, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2015
I turned out perfect! Just the way I wanted......and I am picky picky picky about my bakery!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2015
This was my first attempt at GF cake. I thought the texture was good, nice crumb, and just the right amount of moisture. My only trouble was slicing it-- it seemed difficult to slice and crumbled very easily, even though it was moist enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
I used an earlier reviewer's suggestion and used the Asian super fine rice flour. This did eliminate the grainy texture. I also use rice milk rather than regular milk. I use this recipe to make pineapple upside down cake and the kids really like it. When I make a pineapple upside down cake I use coconut oil rather than butter at the bottom of the pan. That way it is dairy fee and has a bit of a coconut/pineapple island feel! Also, I have tried to make this recipe vegan by subbing out the mayo for a vegan version and the eggs with a flax seed and water mixture, but it does not work very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2014
Being a self-proclaimed so/so baker I think that with this recipe I actually could be proud of myself. This yellow cake, as written, is a good recipe. I made half of it as a cake and half as muffins. The recipe allows for both with no real change from one to the other. The baking soda left an unpleasant metallic taste and the xanthan gum gave it a strange spongy texture. My kids thought they were just ok but once topped with nutella and jimmies, it disappeared and they asked for me to re-make it. This is a triumph in my house, so heed this information. I used superfine white rice, not soaked before hand, and had no grainy textural issues. I will make these again but will leave out the baking soda and xanthan gum and see what happens. As is, the recipe is a keeper and certainly not a settlement for a lack of a better recipe. Eaten as is, as written, you have a good cake. If you are weary of trying new GF recipes and tired of throwing your money away on expensive products go ahead and try this, you won't be disappointed. If you are sensitive to baking soda and/or xanthan gum and the effect they have on baked products either reduce or eliminate and you'll be happy. Thank you Amy for the recipe. I might be able to make a birthday cake without sneers! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Buckwheat Queen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2014
Cannot even tell this is gluten free, very yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzanne Flumerfelt

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2014
I used buttermilk instead of regular but it turned out great. I made cupcakes for my daughters third birthday.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2014
I have to say,,, not that impressed with my 1st attempt. It took 45 min to cook! I did add milk to dry ingredients as suggested and that turned almost solid! ;) i ended up using electric mixer to incorporate the ingred again it was better. Taste wasn't bad at all, but very dense as many GF things are ,,,, will try again with a few changes I think!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2014
This cake was pretty good. I made some good buttercream for the middle and added some chocolate genache to go on top and it made a pretty good cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 204) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Gluten-Free Yellow Cake

See how to make a basic yellow cake with no wheat flour.

David’s Yellow Cake

See how to make a moist yellow cake from scratch.

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States