Gluten-Free White Bread for Bread Machines Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2007
I am so pleased with this recipe. The loaf is as close as you'll ever get to regular white bread (in look and taste) in a gluten free form. I am so glad I found this recipe. I used regular 1% milk instead of buttermilk and added a little extra rice flour during the mixing process (likely about 1/2 cup total) to get it to the right consistancy. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
92 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2008
Wow!! I made this in my bread machine just as a dough and baked it in my oven the first time and it was great.(I changed it to rice milk and honey)..comes out like a batter bread. Then I tried it by mixing it in a bowl and letting it raise for 40 minutes stirred it down and let it rise again for 40 minute..Don't need the bread machine...Then I tried something new I heated the rice milk with 4 chopped cloves of garlic..on the second raise I add chopped onion,sun dried tomatoe,chopped green, red,& yellow pepper and a little jalapeno..oh my!! It was the best Focaccia bread..Next time I'm going to try dill. This bread can be changed in soooo many ways...Thank you so much
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
299 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: South Prairie, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by B Spradley
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2007
This is by far the best recipe I've found for gluten free bread. I made this the other day for my husband and was so excited at how it turned out. It didn't taste like gluten free which says a lot about this recipe! This is better than Alison's bread which is also a good bread recipe on this site. When i read the reviews before making the bread I found several people had bad results and "gave up" on this recipe. Don't take their advice, this recipe does have one mistake: the liquid/flour ratio is off. I had to add about an extra cup of flour/starch, (rice/potato/tapioca) and if i hadn't been watching the bread machine I may have been disappointed like the other reviewers. The dough was more like a banana bread dough than a bread dough. I just scooped it out of my bread maker and poured it into a loaf pan and baked for about 40 mins at 350. It rose beautifully and tasted fantastic! the only other thing i changed was to use tapioca flour instead of soy. Update: I have made this recipe several times now (once as muffins with cinnamon sugar in the middle -see picture) Another time I tried adding a lot more flour to get it to a more "bread dough" consistency. This ruined the loaf, it was so dense, it didn’t rise. Stick with a banana bread consistency and you’ll be happy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
628 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by B Spradley
Living In: La Mirada, California, USA
Photo by Irene
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2008
This bread is fantastic! I have been trying for over a year for a good gluten free bread and this one is by far the best! It turned out really well in the bread maker however I did add another cup of a combination of flours (tapioca, potato starch and rice flour) I also made it will 2 eggs and it turned out fine, not quite as tall as the first one but I may experiment with a little water and corn starch to replace the one egg. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Irene

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2001
This makes a really, really nice bread. The bread machine needed a little extra help as the flours used do not absorb liquids as well as wheat flour. I used semi-skimmed milk instead of butter milk, and Terrence Stamp multi-purpose wheat free flour instead of the soya and the result was great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
252 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2007
This wonderful recipe is the first gluten-free recipe I have made that actually tasted like "real" bread. My bread machine has no trouble with it (although I substitute brown rice and tapioca flour for the soy). It is so easy, my 7 year old daughter is now the bread baker for our house! It also tastes great with a 3/4 cup flaxseed egg substitute.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2007
thanks so much!! we have 2 grandsons that can not have casien or gluten and have not found a bread fit to eat..WE HAVE NOW...i used tapioca flour instead of soy and rice milk in place of buttermilk......only added an extra tablespoon of flour and turned out really good, i did use a rubber spatula to help combine the flours ....super bread, the dough even tasted good before baking which is a good sign.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2008
ADD extra FLOUR. but it will turn out as good as ANY gluten free bread can possibly turn out, i used the regular bread cycle
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2008
I tried ths recipe for my niece's daughter. I had problems the first time because I wasn't using a bread machine. I had no idea what the bread texture was supposed to be. When I brought it to my niece she was excited, she said it was great and she never tasted a gluten-free bread this good before. She said the texture was great too.Thank you for this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2009
I think this was the best tasting Gluten free bread I've made from scratch or from a mix. My dough was sticky so I had to add more flour, and I had to add to the baking time when the timer went off. I didn't have buttermilk so I made my own (I used 4 1/2tsp. of lemon juice then added milk to make the 1 1/2cups, then added 3 tsp. of baking soda) I even use lactose free skim milk. Also, I used 1/4c of egg beaters in place of one of the eggs to lower the fat! I would definately make this one again. I enjoyed having a sandwhich for the first time since going GF!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 134) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Traditional White Bread

See how to make traditional sandwich bread.

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States