Gluten-Free White Bread for Bread Machines Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by B Spradley
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2007
This is by far the best recipe I've found for gluten free bread. I made this the other day for my husband and was so excited at how it turned out. It didn't taste like gluten free which says a lot about this recipe! This is better than Alison's bread which is also a good bread recipe on this site. When i read the reviews before making the bread I found several people had bad results and "gave up" on this recipe. Don't take their advice, this recipe does have one mistake: the liquid/flour ratio is off. I had to add about an extra cup of flour/starch, (rice/potato/tapioca) and if i hadn't been watching the bread machine I may have been disappointed like the other reviewers. The dough was more like a banana bread dough than a bread dough. I just scooped it out of my bread maker and poured it into a loaf pan and baked for about 40 mins at 350. It rose beautifully and tasted fantastic! the only other thing i changed was to use tapioca flour instead of soy. Update: I have made this recipe several times now (once as muffins with cinnamon sugar in the middle -see picture) Another time I tried adding a lot more flour to get it to a more "bread dough" consistency. This ruined the loaf, it was so dense, it didn’t rise. Stick with a banana bread consistency and you’ll be happy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
624 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by B Spradley
Living In: La Mirada, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2008
Wow!! I made this in my bread machine just as a dough and baked it in my oven the first time and it was great.(I changed it to rice milk and honey)..comes out like a batter bread. Then I tried it by mixing it in a bowl and letting it raise for 40 minutes stirred it down and let it rise again for 40 minute..Don't need the bread machine...Then I tried something new I heated the rice milk with 4 chopped cloves of garlic..on the second raise I add chopped onion,sun dried tomatoe,chopped green, red,& yellow pepper and a little jalapeno..oh my!! It was the best Focaccia bread..Next time I'm going to try dill. This bread can be changed in soooo many ways...Thank you so much
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
297 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: South Prairie, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2001
This makes a really, really nice bread. The bread machine needed a little extra help as the flours used do not absorb liquids as well as wheat flour. I used semi-skimmed milk instead of butter milk, and Terrence Stamp multi-purpose wheat free flour instead of the soya and the result was great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
252 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2011
This GF family LOVES this bread. Here's a summary of all the reviews below that I found work best for my KitchenAid bread maker (Costco 2011)...Use the crust color medium and set for 2lb loaf. Use sweet bread cycle (NOT GF). I use Whole Milk instead of Buttermilk (mostly out of convenience as I have it on hand)...and when I did try the buttermilk, it came out tart. Definitely add 1/2 tsp baking powder for better texture. I replaced the soy flour with tapioca flour. I use brown rice flour instead of white rice flour. Add an additional 1/4 cup of tapioca flour and an additional 1/4 cup of brown rice flour. Here's the best thing I can send along....If you are like me, making 2 loaves a week, save some time and sanity and measure out enough of the dry ingredients for 6+ loaves. In other words, place 6 big bowls on your counter and, for example, as you dispense the salt, distribute 1 tsp into each of the 6 bowls. SUCH a time saver. Do NOT add the yeast here--do this only when actually making the bread (as directed on the above recipe). Mix the dry components well, then label a 1 quart glad bag and you're set. When it's time to make bread, add wet ingredients to bread machine, then dump mixed, dry components on top, then yeast. Voila! Hope this helps!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
213 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Shawn
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2009
I've just recently started using AllRecipes and for my first time trying Gluten-Free bread, it turned out amazing! My fiancee and I have wheat and dairy intolerances so I made this recipe with almond milk instead of buttermilk. And I also used tapioca flour instead of the soy flour (since didnt have soy). The bread does seem more like a batter but still turned out incredible in the bread maker. I didn't have to bake it in the oven like some users suggested. I'm going to try using some herbs and roasted garlic in the next loaf, or I'll try some sundried tomatoes and crushed chillies for a new kick on bread. Thanks so much for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
101 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shawn

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Fergus, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2007
I am so pleased with this recipe. The loaf is as close as you'll ever get to regular white bread (in look and taste) in a gluten free form. I am so glad I found this recipe. I used regular 1% milk instead of buttermilk and added a little extra rice flour during the mixing process (likely about 1/2 cup total) to get it to the right consistancy. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
92 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2001
I'm rather miffed by this recipe. I followed the instructions carefully and ended up with the dough running all over the place. My breadmaker was next to ruined. I will not be trying it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2001
I have enjoyed many great loaves of bread from this recipe.I chose from the early recipe soy beverage instead of water,tapioca flour in place of potato starch and soy was the flour. It toasted great and tasted great with soy margarine and wild berry jam. Syd Lennox Elmira, Ontario
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
this is BY FAR the best gluten free bread recipe I've found. I don't use soy flour, but tapioca instead. Also, I add 1 TBSP. unflavoured gelatin with the xanthan gum which helps give more rise and 'stretch' to the dough. Xanthan gum can counteract the yeast somewhat, so I find this helps. I also do not bake it in a bread machine. I don't own one, so I mix it in my kitchen aid mixer, and then proof it in the oven. I turn the oven on 170 until hot and then turn it off. I then put the loaf in the oven to proof for an hour and then turn the oven on to 375 for an hour. I bake it until it sounds hollow when tapped. part of the problem with baking gluten free is that the doughs are so delicate. Proofing in the oven eliminates the need to move the bread and risk it falling in the process. Hope this helps!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JacquiB

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Steinbach, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Irene
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2008
This bread is fantastic! I have been trying for over a year for a good gluten free bread and this one is by far the best! It turned out really well in the bread maker however I did add another cup of a combination of flours (tapioca, potato starch and rice flour) I also made it will 2 eggs and it turned out fine, not quite as tall as the first one but I may experiment with a little water and corn starch to replace the one egg. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Irene

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 134) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Traditional White Bread

See how to make traditional sandwich bread.

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States