Gluten-Free White Bread for Bread Machines Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2001
I'm rather miffed by this recipe. I followed the instructions carefully and ended up with the dough running all over the place. My breadmaker was next to ruined. I will not be trying it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2001
This makes a really, really nice bread. The bread machine needed a little extra help as the flours used do not absorb liquids as well as wheat flour. I used semi-skimmed milk instead of butter milk, and Terrence Stamp multi-purpose wheat free flour instead of the soya and the result was great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
253 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2001
I have enjoyed many great loaves of bread from this recipe.I chose from the early recipe soy beverage instead of water,tapioca flour in place of potato starch and soy was the flour. It toasted great and tasted great with soy margarine and wild berry jam. Syd Lennox Elmira, Ontario
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2002
This is good.Very easy to make.My husband is Gluten Senitive.This is the first bread I made..Linda
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2006
It also started molding within two days of baking. Crumbly texture, similar to dry pound cake. Will never use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2007
Of the gluten-free bread recipes that I've tried so far, this was definitely the best! It makes a moist bread and does not crumble when sliced. The texture is the closest I've found to "regular" bread so far. Bread machine baking can be finicky, so just make sure to follow the recipe carefully and you shouldn't have any problems.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2007
I am so pleased with this recipe. The loaf is as close as you'll ever get to regular white bread (in look and taste) in a gluten free form. I am so glad I found this recipe. I used regular 1% milk instead of buttermilk and added a little extra rice flour during the mixing process (likely about 1/2 cup total) to get it to the right consistancy. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
92 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2007
This wonderful recipe is the first gluten-free recipe I have made that actually tasted like "real" bread. My bread machine has no trouble with it (although I substitute brown rice and tapioca flour for the soy). It is so easy, my 7 year old daughter is now the bread baker for our house! It also tastes great with a 3/4 cup flaxseed egg substitute.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by B Spradley
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2007
This is by far the best recipe I've found for gluten free bread. I made this the other day for my husband and was so excited at how it turned out. It didn't taste like gluten free which says a lot about this recipe! This is better than Alison's bread which is also a good bread recipe on this site. When i read the reviews before making the bread I found several people had bad results and "gave up" on this recipe. Don't take their advice, this recipe does have one mistake: the liquid/flour ratio is off. I had to add about an extra cup of flour/starch, (rice/potato/tapioca) and if i hadn't been watching the bread machine I may have been disappointed like the other reviewers. The dough was more like a banana bread dough than a bread dough. I just scooped it out of my bread maker and poured it into a loaf pan and baked for about 40 mins at 350. It rose beautifully and tasted fantastic! the only other thing i changed was to use tapioca flour instead of soy. Update: I have made this recipe several times now (once as muffins with cinnamon sugar in the middle -see picture) Another time I tried adding a lot more flour to get it to a more "bread dough" consistency. This ruined the loaf, it was so dense, it didn’t rise. Stick with a banana bread consistency and you’ll be happy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
632 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by B Spradley
Living In: La Mirada, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2007
thanks so much!! we have 2 grandsons that can not have casien or gluten and have not found a bread fit to eat..WE HAVE NOW...i used tapioca flour instead of soy and rice milk in place of buttermilk......only added an extra tablespoon of flour and turned out really good, i did use a rubber spatula to help combine the flours ....super bread, the dough even tasted good before baking which is a good sign.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 135) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Traditional White Bread

See how to make traditional sandwich bread.

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States