Gluten-Free White Bread for Bread Machines Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
WOW!!! I can't believe this bread! I have spent SO much money on pre-packaged bread mixes only to have them fail miserably. This bread turned out GREAT, it tastes great, it looks like normal bread, and I was able to make it in my bread machine. Amazing! Thank you so much!! I am having french toast for dinner tonight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
I followed the recipe with the exception of replacing the soy flour and potato starch with tapioca flour, and using milk instead of buttermilk (because that's what I had on hand). The bread turned out fairly dense and moist but edible. There is an odd taste to it, perhaps from the tapioca or corn starch. I've never tasted gluten free bread before this, but overall taste/texture of this gluten free bread is quite different from the tender, comforting taste of a regular loaf of bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
Absolutely excellent! I made this in a $50 Sunbeam bread machine and I can't express how pleased I am with the reults. After struggling to make gluten free bread in the oven for my MS afflicted husband, and failing about 10 times, I just about cried when I saw how wonderfully this loaf turned out. I used 3 1/3 cups of Bob's Red Mill AP flour mix instead of the variety of flours and kept everything else the same. Thanks so much for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
The family couldn't even tell it was gluten free. Very good bread! Used only 2 eggs as that's all that had on hand, used organic sugar instead of honey, used extra potato starch instead of corn starch (allergic to corn), used tapioca flour instead of soy flour, used rice milk. I've bought frozen gluten free breads before at the grocery store and they were horrible, this recipe however is fantastic! Thank you so much! Edited to add: Next day the texture is much dryer, more similar to the loaves I've gotten frozen at the grocery store, but the taste is still really good - unlike the grocery store!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
this is BY FAR the best gluten free bread recipe I've found. I don't use soy flour, but tapioca instead. Also, I add 1 TBSP. unflavoured gelatin with the xanthan gum which helps give more rise and 'stretch' to the dough. Xanthan gum can counteract the yeast somewhat, so I find this helps. I also do not bake it in a bread machine. I don't own one, so I mix it in my kitchen aid mixer, and then proof it in the oven. I turn the oven on 170 until hot and then turn it off. I then put the loaf in the oven to proof for an hour and then turn the oven on to 375 for an hour. I bake it until it sounds hollow when tapped. part of the problem with baking gluten free is that the doughs are so delicate. Proofing in the oven eliminates the need to move the bread and risk it falling in the process. Hope this helps!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JacquiB

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Steinbach, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
A-MA-ZING!!! Made this in a Breadman Ultimate, following the directions exactly and it was great! My particular machine doesn't have a "sweet" cycle so I used the white bread cycle on med-dark crust and it came out beautifully! Thank you so much! No more buying $5 loaves of gf bread at the grocery store. *smiles*
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Panda Pie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Selma, Alabama, USA
Living In: Colleyville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
Very happy about the result! Since I didn't have soy flour and potato starch, I used brown rice flour and tapioca flour instead. I used eggs from my happy chickens and organic ingredients except yeast. I made 2/3 of the amount since my bread maker is not so big. I mixed all wet ingredients first in a bowl and poured over the mixed flour in the machine. It turn out tasty and beautiful. I like its subtle sweetness. Thank you for sharing a great recipe, Aaron!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
Mine turned out to be very heavy and the consistency of banana bread. I guess my search continues for a great gluten free bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
This recipe turned out great! I have bought many gluten free breads (none were eatable) and made several from mixes. This bread was wonderful and the best I have tried. The only substitution I made was buckwheat flour for the soy (I don't care for soy). Several days later the bread was still moist and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
This the best bye far of all the bread out there that I have tryed all ready and I'm very picky in my tast. This bread you can do so much to and chance the flours all a round. It don't matter which one you use. That is what is so great and other things to it. I make noughthing else now. I'm even useing it for my stuffing mix this year...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 140) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Traditional White Bread

See how to make traditional sandwich bread.

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States