Gluten-Free White Bread for Bread Machines Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2011
Not substitute friendly! I put in soured milk for the buttermilk and an All Purpose Gluten free flour to replace the 3 cups of other flours. The goo overflowed in my breadmaker. This was horribly messy to clean up. I split it into two loaf pans and set it in the oven to finish rising. It overflowed both of them as well, all over my oven. I'm NOT a happy camper. It's baking now, if it fills the whole oven I won't be surprised.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
Yum! Yes it is dense, but that is SO much better than dry and crumbly.. Slices wonderfully. Put two slices in the oven with a little butter, garlic and parm cheese. Hubby who is not celiac wanted more of "my" bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
I've been making this bread for 2 years. It is one of the best I've found that is GF and easily made in the bread machine. I do use quinoa flour instead of the soy, as I'm not a soy fan. It's a very attractive loaf as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
Great recipe. I am vegan so I substituted butter milk with soymilk and 3 eggs with ener egg substitute, I also only had brown rice flour instead of the white. It turned out great. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Newvegan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
WOW!!! I can't believe this bread! I have spent SO much money on pre-packaged bread mixes only to have them fail miserably. This bread turned out GREAT, it tastes great, it looks like normal bread, and I was able to make it in my bread machine. Amazing! Thank you so much!! I am having french toast for dinner tonight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
I followed the recipe with the exception of replacing the soy flour and potato starch with tapioca flour, and using milk instead of buttermilk (because that's what I had on hand). The bread turned out fairly dense and moist but edible. There is an odd taste to it, perhaps from the tapioca or corn starch. I've never tasted gluten free bread before this, but overall taste/texture of this gluten free bread is quite different from the tender, comforting taste of a regular loaf of bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
Absolutely excellent! I made this in a $50 Sunbeam bread machine and I can't express how pleased I am with the reults. After struggling to make gluten free bread in the oven for my MS afflicted husband, and failing about 10 times, I just about cried when I saw how wonderfully this loaf turned out. I used 3 1/3 cups of Bob's Red Mill AP flour mix instead of the variety of flours and kept everything else the same. Thanks so much for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
The family couldn't even tell it was gluten free. Very good bread! Used only 2 eggs as that's all that had on hand, used organic sugar instead of honey, used extra potato starch instead of corn starch (allergic to corn), used tapioca flour instead of soy flour, used rice milk. I've bought frozen gluten free breads before at the grocery store and they were horrible, this recipe however is fantastic! Thank you so much! Edited to add: Next day the texture is much dryer, more similar to the loaves I've gotten frozen at the grocery store, but the taste is still really good - unlike the grocery store!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
this is BY FAR the best gluten free bread recipe I've found. I don't use soy flour, but tapioca instead. Also, I add 1 TBSP. unflavoured gelatin with the xanthan gum which helps give more rise and 'stretch' to the dough. Xanthan gum can counteract the yeast somewhat, so I find this helps. I also do not bake it in a bread machine. I don't own one, so I mix it in my kitchen aid mixer, and then proof it in the oven. I turn the oven on 170 until hot and then turn it off. I then put the loaf in the oven to proof for an hour and then turn the oven on to 375 for an hour. I bake it until it sounds hollow when tapped. part of the problem with baking gluten free is that the doughs are so delicate. Proofing in the oven eliminates the need to move the bread and risk it falling in the process. Hope this helps!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JacquiB

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Steinbach, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
A-MA-ZING!!! Made this in a Breadman Ultimate, following the directions exactly and it was great! My particular machine doesn't have a "sweet" cycle so I used the white bread cycle on med-dark crust and it came out beautifully! Thank you so much! No more buying $5 loaves of gf bread at the grocery store. *smiles*
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Panda Pie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Selma, Alabama, USA
Living In: Colleyville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 134) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Traditional White Bread

See how to make traditional sandwich bread.

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States