Gluten-Free White Bread for Bread Machines Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2011
Fabulous!! We have been gluten free for almost 6 years and this is one of the best breads I have had, especially out of a machine. (I usually make it by hand) I did change some things: we are Dairy free also, so the milk I did a straight swap of buttermilk to Soy Milk+lemon juice (to keep the acid balance the same) I used buckwheat flour instead of soy flour and for the 2 c of white rice flour I used about 1 cups white rice flour, 3/4 c brown rice flour and 1/4 c corn flour. I was using up an assortment of bits of flours I had. I have no doubt that it would be equally good with the flours as written. I used the regular white bread setting on the breadmaker, as it gives more time to work the dough and let the liquids fully hydrate the flours. I scraped about 2x. My dough looked thick, but not as thick as wheat bread dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
Very good! Even my kids ate it and they aren't gluten intolerant!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2011
This GF family LOVES this bread. Here's a summary of all the reviews below that I found work best for my KitchenAid bread maker (Costco 2011)...Use the crust color medium and set for 2lb loaf. Use sweet bread cycle (NOT GF). I use Whole Milk instead of Buttermilk (mostly out of convenience as I have it on hand)...and when I did try the buttermilk, it came out tart. Definitely add 1/2 tsp baking powder for better texture. I replaced the soy flour with tapioca flour. I use brown rice flour instead of white rice flour. Add an additional 1/4 cup of tapioca flour and an additional 1/4 cup of brown rice flour. Here's the best thing I can send along....If you are like me, making 2 loaves a week, save some time and sanity and measure out enough of the dry ingredients for 6+ loaves. In other words, place 6 big bowls on your counter and, for example, as you dispense the salt, distribute 1 tsp into each of the 6 bowls. SUCH a time saver. Do NOT add the yeast here--do this only when actually making the bread (as directed on the above recipe). Mix the dry components well, then label a 1 quart glad bag and you're set. When it's time to make bread, add wet ingredients to bread machine, then dump mixed, dry components on top, then yeast. Voila! Hope this helps!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
246 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2011
Very Good! I didn't have Soy Flour - so I used Garbanzo Bean Flour. Also, I used a buttermilk substitute with Soy Milk & Distilled White Vinegar. (1 1/2 cup soy milk & 1 1/2 tablespoons distilled white vinegar. Thanks Aaron!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2011
My husband has gluten sensitvity. I don't have a bread machine. I used the ingredients exactly as listed. I let the dough rise for about 2 hours, then baked it in the oven for about 40 min. at 350 deg. My husband said it's better than Udi's. I just hope it keeps well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2011
This is a good loaf of gf bread and an excellent on for beginners to start with due to it's forgiving nature. We are 3 months into living gf due to our 8 year old daughter and this recipe was used for multiple 'bready' items and had multiple substitutions as I acquired more of the different flours. A few hints to help people tackling this without a bread machine and the recipe in general. First, if you don't have buttermilk,warm whatever milk up and add vinegar (let it sit). Mix the dry ingredients and the wet seperate. Combine all mixing well and it should be a batter bread consistency-think gloppy. Careful b/c if you sub. flours it can make it more dry so you might need to add some water. This happened to me when I used buckwheat flour. Put it all in a greased loaf pan, cover, and put in a warm over that has been shut off. Mine rises an inch above the edge of the loaf pan which is the norm for gf bread I've read. I'm playing with times yet but as another stated 350 for 50 min. seems to be a good base. It must sound hollow when tapped, another gf thing! Also, I do have to cover the top of mine with foil about half way thru the baking so it doesn't brown to much. I'll update this as I"m going to try a few loaves with the addition of 1 tsp of baking soda as another reviewer suggested. Hope this helps! Good luck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SIMPLELIFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2011
My son LOVED it!! Thank God, because the other expensive loaves are heavy, dry. This was moist and yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2011
Not substitute friendly! I put in soured milk for the buttermilk and an All Purpose Gluten free flour to replace the 3 cups of other flours. The goo overflowed in my breadmaker. This was horribly messy to clean up. I split it into two loaf pans and set it in the oven to finish rising. It overflowed both of them as well, all over my oven. I'm NOT a happy camper. It's baking now, if it fills the whole oven I won't be surprised.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
Yum! Yes it is dense, but that is SO much better than dry and crumbly.. Slices wonderfully. Put two slices in the oven with a little butter, garlic and parm cheese. Hubby who is not celiac wanted more of "my" bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
I've been making this bread for 2 years. It is one of the best I've found that is GF and easily made in the bread machine. I do use quinoa flour instead of the soy, as I'm not a soy fan. It's a very attractive loaf as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 141) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Traditional White Bread

See how to make traditional sandwich bread.

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States