Gluten-Free White Bread for Bread Machines Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2012
I love this recipe but it doesn't always turn out perfect. Wondering if it is because without weighing there is a slight difference with each loaf. Does anyone have the ingredients as weights??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2012
I use this recipe as the basis for gluten-free bread-machine bread all the time now. I like to mix up the combination of flours. My personal favorite: 1 cup brown rice flour; 1 cup tapioca flour; 1 + 1/3 cup oat flour. I also tend to use less xantham gum (1+1/2 - 2 tsp) and substitute agave nectar for honey, and the recipe works out fine. I consistently have a problem with the bread collapsing, which I still haven't been able to get around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2012
This is the best bread I have tried to date! I have allergy to wheat, gluten, dairy & egg so this is what I did: I didnt use rice at all (trying to avoid too much of it) Did 1 cupe oat flour, 1/2 cup sorghum, 1/4 cup flaxmeal (grinded it up, helps with binding since I used no eggs) & 1/4 up buckwheat. Omited eggs and used 3 TBSP applesauce mixed with 1 tsp baking powder and used 1 TBSP egg free mayo mixed with 3 TBSP water & 1 tsp baking powder again. I found I have to use less than 1.5 cups buttermilk, more like 1 1/4 cup, even though I didnt subsitute the 3rd egg. I didnt use cornstarch, used tapioca. I mixed it in my bread machine but transfered the batter into my bread loaf pan and put it in the oven instead. To make dairy free buttermilk: 1 cup non-dairy milk (i.e. soya milk) mixed with 1 TBSP apple cider vinegar or even lemon juice (I always use ACV though) Let sit for a couple minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
good for gluten free. really good fresh, but quite dry if you eat later. Probably typical for gluten free bread. Also, I did not need to add more flour then the recipe calls for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ahoffort

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2012
THANK YOU SO MUCH! finally, a bread that tastes almost like real bread! My husband loved it and said he wants it again and he can eat real bread! I had to sub a few things I didn't have. I used milk, used brown sugar syrup instead of honey and tapioca flour instead of soy. Took one of the reviewers suggestions and added 1/2 tsp of baking powder. Also added a little flax seed and sunflower seeds for extra flavor. I used the standard 4 hour cycle on my panasonic breadmaker, no sweet or gluten free cycle available.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2012
The cost of ingredients - $70 The cost of oxo containers for the ingredients - $100 The taste of this bread -priceless. I have bought every brand of bread I could find and tried numerous recipes. This is FINALLY something worth eating. It is a little yeasty, but otherwise, great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
This tasted awful. It gets two stars because eating it with honey and butter makes it easier to gulp down and it wasn't a total waste of ingredients. Made it as written. It was just SO bland. I know bread is supposed to be bland, but this was SUPER bland... I'm trying to find a recipe so i don't have to buy $5.50 loafs, but this recipe is definitely not it...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2012
Tastes great! Moist and surprisingly fluffy for GF bread! Quite impressive! Like the rest, I used an extra 1/2 c of flour and it worked great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2012
I made the mistake of assuming "check consistency" meant that it should be like bread dough. Not so - the consistency should be closer to cake batter. Instructions should be updated to clarify what the dough will look like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2012
I substituted whole milk for buttermilk and maple syrup for honey. I also added a bit more rice flour and then a bit more soy flour during the "kneading" phases because the dough seemed very thin and batter-like. Otherwise made as instructed on the "rapid" setting in my Biltwell Bread Machine. The bread was tasty and came out moist with a crisp brown crust. It was slightly granular in texture (probably having to do with the brand of rice flour I used). I also thought it could use some more salt. I will absolutely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 143) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Traditional White Bread

See how to make traditional sandwich bread.

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States