Gluten-Free White Bread for Bread Machines Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2012
I made the mistake of assuming "check consistency" meant that it should be like bread dough. Not so - the consistency should be closer to cake batter. Instructions should be updated to clarify what the dough will look like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2012
I substituted whole milk for buttermilk and maple syrup for honey. I also added a bit more rice flour and then a bit more soy flour during the "kneading" phases because the dough seemed very thin and batter-like. Otherwise made as instructed on the "rapid" setting in my Biltwell Bread Machine. The bread was tasty and came out moist with a crisp brown crust. It was slightly granular in texture (probably having to do with the brand of rice flour I used). I also thought it could use some more salt. I will absolutely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
My daughter loved this bread. It baked beautifully on the regular bread setting in our breadmaker and didn't make an overly thick crust. I made the following alterations based on other reviews and what I had on hand. 1.5 tsps of white vinegar instead of cider vinegar, tapioca flour in place of potato, millet flour in place of soy flour, 1 cup of brown rice to replace one cup of the white rice, and rice milk instead of buttermilk. Even my kids who are not gluten-sensitive loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
ABSOLUTELY FANTASTIC BREAD. I have to say whomever down grades this bread really doesn't know what they are talking about. This bread turns out beautifully if you just follow the directions and proper measurements you will not have a problem. Just add all ingredients in order on this recipe to your bread maker, set your machine to sweet breads and press start. There should be no need to add anything to this recipe. Before you know it you have a perfect loaf. I thank you very much for your recipe and I highly recommend to everyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
I received a bread maker for Christmas, having recently been diagnosed with celiac. I was hesitant, but this recipe turned out perfect. I was so pleased to finally have almost regular bread again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
I've been trying gf bread recipes for over a year now, and this by far is the closest I've come to in a long time to the real thing. Dense enough to hold together, without being dry or mealy, and pretty close to the "bread" taste that I remember from 10+ years ago. I'll definetly keep this and use it to build on and tweak to my own personal taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
Until yesterday, this was the best gf bread I had ever had. It's really good. I changed a couple things based on what I had: almond milk instead of buttermilk, tapioca starch instead of potato, millet flour instead of soy. Started it out in the bread machine, and then realized it didn't bake (don't know why; it's never done that before). My machine does not have programmable cycles, and the sweet bread cycle did the regular 2-3 kneads/rises, so by the time I discovered it hadn't baked and scooped it into a loaf pan, the dough had been through the wringer, so to speak. GF dough only needs one rise and no punching down. Nevertheless, it baked up very nicely in the oven. It tasted great, and while denser than wheat bread, it was not as dense as previous gf bread I've had (homemade or purchased). It held together well and didn't fall apart, even when sliced thinly. It lasted at least 5 days without becoming a dry, crumbly, inedible mess. It made a decent turkey sandwich, and was good spread with pb and jelly. I personally did not care for it toasted, or as a grilled cheese sandwich. I did have a few inches of the loaf left by the time it was passed its prime, so I put that in the blender and it made very nice breadcrumbs to keep in the freezer for other uses. Just to let you know, the even better gf bread is the brown bread recipe from 125 Best GF Recipes by Donna Washburn and Heather Butt. The texture is very close to wheat bread, soft and fluffy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
Going GF was tough. I miss bread. This recipe is as close as I've come. Tastes great, smells great and is super easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2011
Best gluten free bread I've ever tried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
The most delicious GF bread recipe I've made in 4 months of GF living!! I did make some substitutions -- 1 cup each white and brown rice flour (to equal the 2 cups rice flour), substituted 1/2 cup sorghum flour for the soy flour and substituted tapioca starch for the potato starch since I am anti-inflammatory diet conscious as well (potato is a nightshade that causes inflammation). Used the buttermilk left over from making my own home-made butter. Used only 1 tsp white vinegar instead of apple cider since it was all I had at the time! Best GF loaf of bread I've had since beginning this lifestyle change in July!! The bread kept well too, in an airtight container in the refrigerator. We ate on this loaf of bread all week long! Thanks so very much!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 135) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Traditional White Bread

See how to make traditional sandwich bread.

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States