Gluten-Free White Bread for Bread Machines Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 5, 2012
this always turns out to be a bread sized version of a tea-biscuit for me, and it always caves in. I must be doing something wrong but I followed all the directions as listed and on GF setting on my bread maker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2012
I made this recipe with all the exact ingredients except the buttermilk- I used 1% milk. I baked it in the oven. I preheat the oven to 180 F. then shut it off and immediately put the dough in to rise for 2 hours. Then I turned the oven on to 350 F. and baked for 40 minutes. Turned out great!! I highly suggest you give this one a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2012
I love this recipe but it doesn't always turn out perfect. Wondering if it is because without weighing there is a slight difference with each loaf. Does anyone have the ingredients as weights??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2012
I use this recipe as the basis for gluten-free bread-machine bread all the time now. I like to mix up the combination of flours. My personal favorite: 1 cup brown rice flour; 1 cup tapioca flour; 1 + 1/3 cup oat flour. I also tend to use less xantham gum (1+1/2 - 2 tsp) and substitute agave nectar for honey, and the recipe works out fine. I consistently have a problem with the bread collapsing, which I still haven't been able to get around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2012
This is the best bread I have tried to date! I have allergy to wheat, gluten, dairy & egg so this is what I did: I didnt use rice at all (trying to avoid too much of it) Did 1 cupe oat flour, 1/2 cup sorghum, 1/4 cup flaxmeal (grinded it up, helps with binding since I used no eggs) & 1/4 up buckwheat. Omited eggs and used 3 TBSP applesauce mixed with 1 tsp baking powder and used 1 TBSP egg free mayo mixed with 3 TBSP water & 1 tsp baking powder again. I found I have to use less than 1.5 cups buttermilk, more like 1 1/4 cup, even though I didnt subsitute the 3rd egg. I didnt use cornstarch, used tapioca. I mixed it in my bread machine but transfered the batter into my bread loaf pan and put it in the oven instead. To make dairy free buttermilk: 1 cup non-dairy milk (i.e. soya milk) mixed with 1 TBSP apple cider vinegar or even lemon juice (I always use ACV though) Let sit for a couple minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
good for gluten free. really good fresh, but quite dry if you eat later. Probably typical for gluten free bread. Also, I did not need to add more flour then the recipe calls for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ahoffort

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2012
THANK YOU SO MUCH! finally, a bread that tastes almost like real bread! My husband loved it and said he wants it again and he can eat real bread! I had to sub a few things I didn't have. I used milk, used brown sugar syrup instead of honey and tapioca flour instead of soy. Took one of the reviewers suggestions and added 1/2 tsp of baking powder. Also added a little flax seed and sunflower seeds for extra flavor. I used the standard 4 hour cycle on my panasonic breadmaker, no sweet or gluten free cycle available.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2012
The cost of ingredients - $70 The cost of oxo containers for the ingredients - $100 The taste of this bread -priceless. I have bought every brand of bread I could find and tried numerous recipes. This is FINALLY something worth eating. It is a little yeasty, but otherwise, great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
This tasted awful. It gets two stars because eating it with honey and butter makes it easier to gulp down and it wasn't a total waste of ingredients. Made it as written. It was just SO bland. I know bread is supposed to be bland, but this was SUPER bland... I'm trying to find a recipe so i don't have to buy $5.50 loafs, but this recipe is definitely not it...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2012
Tastes great! Moist and surprisingly fluffy for GF bread! Quite impressive! Like the rest, I used an extra 1/2 c of flour and it worked great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 135) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Traditional White Bread

See how to make traditional sandwich bread.

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States