Gluten-Free White Bread for Bread Machines Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2012
best gluten free bread i've had. i had to subsitute some of the flours to use what i had on hand. i will make it again. freezes well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2012
This bread is really good! I'm not a huge fan of the flavour of bean flours so I used sorghum flour in place of the soy flour. I also didn't use as much oil and used water & buttermilk powder. The bread was moist & flavourful. As with all GF breads, the batter is really like a quick bread and it should be! Don't mess with it. Tucked this away in the freezer for toast cravings. Very good. Thank you so much for posting this. It's given me hope!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingston, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2012
This is the BEST recipe we have found anywhere so far for a gluten-free bread. It is moist, where every other kind we have tried has the dry, crumbly texture that is not favorable! I actually do this in the bread machine on the basic dough cycle, and then transfer it to a bread pan and bake it in the oven for 25-27 minutes (just because the breadmaker makes more of a "bottom crust" than we like. We love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2012
THIS BREAD IS AMAZING!!!!!! My mom makes this for me and I absolutly love it. It is so soft and taste like real bread unlike most GF bread. I honestly can't say enough good things about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathryn Sliwinski Brandys

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Monroe, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2012
I made this according to directions but with rice milk. I used oven instead of bread machine. I let it rise for 40 min..punched it down and let it rise for another 40 min. While it had a wonderful taste..it didn't rise. It was about 2 inches high after it baked . If someone could tell me what I might have done wrong....or how to change a bread machine bread to an oven bread I would really appreciate it! Thanks. j. minton
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2012
As far as gluten free goes....this bread was great. It works well for toast or just bread with peanut butter. But it's too dry and crumbly for a sandwich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2012
this always turns out to be a bread sized version of a tea-biscuit for me, and it always caves in. I must be doing something wrong but I followed all the directions as listed and on GF setting on my bread maker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2012
I made this recipe with all the exact ingredients except the buttermilk- I used 1% milk. I baked it in the oven. I preheat the oven to 180 F. then shut it off and immediately put the dough in to rise for 2 hours. Then I turned the oven on to 350 F. and baked for 40 minutes. Turned out great!! I highly suggest you give this one a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2012
I love this recipe but it doesn't always turn out perfect. Wondering if it is because without weighing there is a slight difference with each loaf. Does anyone have the ingredients as weights??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2012
I use this recipe as the basis for gluten-free bread-machine bread all the time now. I like to mix up the combination of flours. My personal favorite: 1 cup brown rice flour; 1 cup tapioca flour; 1 + 1/3 cup oat flour. I also tend to use less xantham gum (1+1/2 - 2 tsp) and substitute agave nectar for honey, and the recipe works out fine. I consistently have a problem with the bread collapsing, which I still haven't been able to get around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 141) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Traditional White Bread

See how to make traditional sandwich bread.

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States