Gluten-Free White Bread for Bread Machines Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2013
One of my favorite gluten free bread recipes. I am always substituting some kind of flour or another, sorghum instead of white rice etc depending on what is in my cupboard..but as long as there is a good balance of very fine flours (tapioca, cornstarch or potato flours)to the heavier flours(rice, sorghum, soy) it always seems to work out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2013
This was great! I thought this was better than store-bought gluten-free bread. I did make some changes however, so that is why it is a 4-star, but with the changes, it is a 5-star. I didn't have honey so I used maple syrup. I used an all-purpose gluten free flour instead of the soy flour and add about 1/2 cup flour because the batter was really wet. I also added 1/2 teaspoon of baking powder as recommended by another user.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2013
It looks and tastes like real bread. Amazing! I love it. I did substitute the butter milk with almond milk (all I had) and instead of using the bread machine I mixed all the ingredients in a food processor and baked the bread in the oven for 45 minutes at 350% F.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2013
I wanted white wheat bread, and this hit the spot. If you're looking for a light fluffy white bread, this isn't it. It's a heavy, filling bread. Most gluten free breads are. One slice is easily equal to 2, maybe 3, slices of wheat bread. But it smells right. It tastes right. I keep it in a ziplock bag in my fridge. About the 4th day it begins to dry out a little, but just warm it up and it's fine (won't toast like wheat bread though. I actually warm it on a higher setting on my toaster than I used to with wheat bread, because it's so dense, and takes longer to warm up). Here's what I've done: I replaced the soy flour with tapioca. I've made it with both brown and white flour. Some prefer it with brown. I don't. I think it tastes more authentic with white. But ... that being said, brown or white, the taste is very similar. I reduced the apple cider vinegar just a touch. I eye it ... it's about, say 3/4 of a Tbsp, give or take. I found I could taste it before this. That slight reduction was all I needed. Some suggested 1/2 a tsp of baking powder. I upped it to 1 tsp this last bread, and loved the texture. Delightful! I also noticed when the baked loaf came out, there was some flour/starch that hadn't been mixed in on the side. So ... when your machine begins the mix, just take a spatula, and carefully scrape down the sides that still have flour. It'll mix right in, and the loaf will be perfect. This is a great recipe. I highly recommend it. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LBEB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Powell River, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2013
I have tried A LOT of GF bread recipes and this one is by far the best! The only change I made was changing soy flour to sorghum flour because of personal preference. Still, this turns out to be a great loaf!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2013
Great recipe- I tried it last night - my family loved it- am baking another loaf now. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jeannine
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2013
I made a few changes to this recipe and it turned out great! I used 1 cup each of white and brown rice flour, substituted the buttermilk with coconut milk and added 1/2 Tsp of baking powder and 1 TBS of gelatin to the dry ingredients. My biggest worry now is how to not eat the whole loaf myself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Port Colborne, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2013
I have made this bread 3 different times, the 2nd and third times I substituted ingredients according to what I have in my house at the time, each time it had turned out wonderful! Substitutions I have made include: -molasses instead of honey - almond or soy milk instead of buttermilk -more potato starch instead of cornstarch -1 cup buckwheat flour & 1 cup brown rice flour instead of 2 cups white rice flour. I am in love with this recipie & will continue to experiment with it too! Highly reccomended, even my non-GF friends enjoyed this bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa Parolin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
Excellent texture for gluten-free bread! It seems to work great for sandwich bread, but really isn't tasty enough to eat by itself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
I found this recipe on Monday. After reading such great reviews my boyfriend and I ran right out to get a bread machine, very excited to try this for ourselves. Six hours later we finally found a machine. (Apparently most are sold on line now) Tuesday morning we made the bread exactly as originaly written, didnt mess with one ingredient, put it all in our $46.00 Sears Kenmore bread machine, and much to our suprise...2 1/2 hours later popped out the best gluten free bread EVER! It was just like the old white bread I used to eat years ago and never thought I would be able to eat again. I am so happy to have found this recipe,I can now enjoy real peanutbutter and jelly sandwiches again! Thank you so much for posting this
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Falmouth, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 135) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Traditional White Bread

See how to make traditional sandwich bread.

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States