Gluten-Free White Bread for Bread Machines Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2009
Surprisingly moist. After reading other reviews, I added a cup of flour to the mix. When I checked on the kneading process it looked quite dry so I added more buttermilk. It still tasted very good and met with my 6 y.o.'s approval. Next time I'll do recipe as written (again replacing soy flour with tapioca since I always keep tapioca flour on hand).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2009
Not bad as far as gluten free bread goes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Shawn
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2009
I've just recently started using AllRecipes and for my first time trying Gluten-Free bread, it turned out amazing! My fiancee and I have wheat and dairy intolerances so I made this recipe with almond milk instead of buttermilk. And I also used tapioca flour instead of the soy flour (since didnt have soy). The bread does seem more like a batter but still turned out incredible in the bread maker. I didn't have to bake it in the oven like some users suggested. I'm going to try using some herbs and roasted garlic in the next loaf, or I'll try some sundried tomatoes and crushed chillies for a new kick on bread. Thanks so much for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
111 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shawn

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Fergus, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2009
I think this was the best tasting Gluten free bread I've made from scratch or from a mix. My dough was sticky so I had to add more flour, and I had to add to the baking time when the timer went off. I didn't have buttermilk so I made my own (I used 4 1/2tsp. of lemon juice then added milk to make the 1 1/2cups, then added 3 tsp. of baking soda) I even use lactose free skim milk. Also, I used 1/4c of egg beaters in place of one of the eggs to lower the fat! I would definately make this one again. I enjoyed having a sandwhich for the first time since going GF!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2008
I tried ths recipe for my niece's daughter. I had problems the first time because I wasn't using a bread machine. I had no idea what the bread texture was supposed to be. When I brought it to my niece she was excited, she said it was great and she never tasted a gluten-free bread this good before. She said the texture was great too.Thank you for this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2008
This was a very different recipe than the usual gf bread.I liked the tangy taste of the buttermilk. I added ground flaxseed and a "trail mix" style blend of nuts to give any gf bread more nutrients. Pumpkin, sunflower, chopped almonds etc. Just add more milk and oil to compensate the dryness for these additions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brightbritain
Home Town: Rhinebeck, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2008
Nice and moist. It has a very understated flavor. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2008
I did not have the same stunning success most of you had. I varied the flour and still the loaf was dense. I finally got a loaf that rose and was "fluffy" by replacing one cup rice flour with 1 cup soy flour. I used the "dough" setting on my bread machine and baked it in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Doylestown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Kent, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2008
ADD extra FLOUR. but it will turn out as good as ANY gluten free bread can possibly turn out, i used the regular bread cycle
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Irene
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2008
This bread is fantastic! I have been trying for over a year for a good gluten free bread and this one is by far the best! It turned out really well in the bread maker however I did add another cup of a combination of flours (tapioca, potato starch and rice flour) I also made it will 2 eggs and it turned out fine, not quite as tall as the first one but I may experiment with a little water and corn starch to replace the one egg. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Irene

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 141) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Traditional White Bread

See how to make traditional sandwich bread.

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States