Gluten-Free White Bread for Bread Machines Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
This bread was my first attempt at making gluten free bread "from scratch." It is moist and delicious and really easy. I will be making it again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2010
I'm not sure what all the fuss is about too much liquid. I thought this recipe was great. It is much better than the expensive GF boxed bread mixes out there. I adapted mine to my small 1lb bread machine, but cutting it back to 8 servings. Because I was so paranoid about the other reviews I added extra flour but then ended up having to add more liquid. I think it will be fine as is, if you make sure you are making the appropriate bread size for your machines size. This was great bread. It's texture and everything was very close to "regular" bread. I'm making another loaf now. Oh and if you happen to own a crisper pan, try toasting the bread on this. It is wonderful! Thank you so much for sharing this excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Danville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2010
TASTE GREAT NOTHING LIKE WHAT YOU WOULD EXPECT FROM GLUTEN FREE BREAD!!!. Changes I made used 1 1/2 C rice milk, 1 tbls + 1 tsp guar gum instead of xanthan (allergy issues), 1/3 + 1/2 C potato starch, tapioca instead of soy flour, 3/4 C 1 1/2 C wht rice flour, 1 C brown rice flour, 1 1/2 tsp yeast. I added home made dough enhancer 1/8 tsp ascorbic acid, 1 tsp pectin, 1/4 ginger. dough was perfect just like regular dough not like banana bread consistency. made on dough setting in bread maker then baked at 350 in oven for 25 minutes then reduced 325 because it was browning to quick for 15 minutes. It taste really great and was soft on inside not hard like store brand gluten. would have given 5 stars if i did not have to make so many changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
This is amazing gluten free bread. Closest "regular bread" mimic I've come across. No toasting necessary! The key ingredient in this bread is the xanthan gum so DON'T SKIP IT! This loaf has lasted me 7 days in the bread drawer. Used soy milk in place of the buttermilk. Just one added ingredient: Dough Enhancer, I highly recommend it for all your GF bread baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: East Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
I made this for a friend who is gluten-intolerant, and who doesn't have time to bake. Though I did not taste the bread myself, she emailed the moment she received it and called it "phenomenal" and asked for the recipe immediately! I did substitute 1/2 cup sorghum flour for 1/2 cup of the white rice flour, and substituted gluten-free potato flakes for the potato starch. The batter was fairly stiff, somewhat like a muffin batter. Using the buttermilk as called for kept the dough fairly stiff, so I did not increase the amount of liquid. I let the batter (or dough) rest in a warming drawer for about 15 minutes before spooning into the greased loaf pan. I baked it at 350 for about 45 minutes, as suggested by another reviewer. I tested it with a toothpick to test for doneness, since this isn't a typical yeast bread. My friend raved about both the flavor and the texture, which she remarked was similar to a moist quick bread. I can't wait to try some myself, even though we don't have problems with gluten in our family. Thanks for a recipe that really works beautifully!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
Very nice texture. I used green pea flour instead of soy flour because I didn't have any and tapioca starch instead of potato starch for the same reason. Added Italian herbs and 1/2 teaspoon extra salt for flavour. It turned out great. Will experiment with other add-ins next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
I can't express how happy I am to have found this recipe. It's such a joy to have a slice of bread that tastes so good after years of going without. The proportion of ingredients is perfect. The only thing I do differently is I mix all the dry ingredients together in a bowl first before adding it to the wet ingredients. Also, as soon as the machine starts mixing I help it along with a rubber spatula as my machine does not do a good job. I always find gluten free bread tastes best when toasted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2009
WE HAVE A WINNER! This recipe is great! I've been buying a bread mix off Amazon for the past year, but I like the way this turned out a lot better. I still might try some modifications for my own tastes, but my son LOVES this bread so that's all that matters.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2009
I've made this bread many times exactly as stated in the recipe. It's my favorite gluten free white bread. It is very important to follow step 2 and check the consistency of the bread in the bread machine after 5 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2009
Surprisingly moist. After reading other reviews, I added a cup of flour to the mix. When I checked on the kneading process it looked quite dry so I added more buttermilk. It still tasted very good and met with my 6 y.o.'s approval. Next time I'll do recipe as written (again replacing soy flour with tapioca since I always keep tapioca flour on hand).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 140) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Traditional White Bread

See how to make traditional sandwich bread.

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States