Gluten-Free White Bread for Bread Machines Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2010
This is a very good gluten free bread. It stays moist longer than most gluten free bread. I' happy that there's no bean flour in the recipe. I substituted some ingredients that I'm allergic to and the bread still came out very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2010
This is an excellent GF bread recipe. It has good texture and freezes well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Good EatNZ

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yuba City, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2010
Excellent. My grandson loved it. I did add 1/4 cup more rice flour as it was coming out a little too moist for sandwhich bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
good gluten free bread. It was similar to "Gluten Free Pantry's French bread and pizza mix" I rated it a 4 stars though because it was TOO SWEET so I will reduce the honey for next time. I will also from now make substitutions with more nutritious gluten free flours, such as buckwheat, coconut flour and others. The one thing that is really missing from a gluten free bread is the protein and fiber, so I seek to remedy that through substitutions. Great base and cheaper to make it than to buy made or from a kit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by M. Scicluna

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2010
This is truely a good gluten free recipe! It has a kind of stretchy texture, and is a littl different, but it is nummy! I used brown rice flour instead of the white rice flour, flaxseed instead of the eggs, and non dairy milk instead of the buttermilk. Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sugar-n-spice

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Washougal, Washington, USA
Living In: Scio, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2010
This is by far the best GF bread recipe...I also found that adding 1 tsp of baking powder, makes the loaf rise about 30% more and creates a finer texture (not denser). Also if some of the rice flour is replaced with tapioca flour, this results in a chewier loaf. (use a sweet tapioca flour such as one from Authentic Foods: Bobs Red Mill is good, but is a sour variety).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
This bread was my first attempt at making gluten free bread "from scratch." It is moist and delicious and really easy. I will be making it again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2010
I'm not sure what all the fuss is about too much liquid. I thought this recipe was great. It is much better than the expensive GF boxed bread mixes out there. I adapted mine to my small 1lb bread machine, but cutting it back to 8 servings. Because I was so paranoid about the other reviews I added extra flour but then ended up having to add more liquid. I think it will be fine as is, if you make sure you are making the appropriate bread size for your machines size. This was great bread. It's texture and everything was very close to "regular" bread. I'm making another loaf now. Oh and if you happen to own a crisper pan, try toasting the bread on this. It is wonderful! Thank you so much for sharing this excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Danville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2010
TASTE GREAT NOTHING LIKE WHAT YOU WOULD EXPECT FROM GLUTEN FREE BREAD!!!. Changes I made used 1 1/2 C rice milk, 1 tbls + 1 tsp guar gum instead of xanthan (allergy issues), 1/3 + 1/2 C potato starch, tapioca instead of soy flour, 3/4 C 1 1/2 C wht rice flour, 1 C brown rice flour, 1 1/2 tsp yeast. I added home made dough enhancer 1/8 tsp ascorbic acid, 1 tsp pectin, 1/4 ginger. dough was perfect just like regular dough not like banana bread consistency. made on dough setting in bread maker then baked at 350 in oven for 25 minutes then reduced 325 because it was browning to quick for 15 minutes. It taste really great and was soft on inside not hard like store brand gluten. would have given 5 stars if i did not have to make so many changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
This is amazing gluten free bread. Closest "regular bread" mimic I've come across. No toasting necessary! The key ingredient in this bread is the xanthan gum so DON'T SKIP IT! This loaf has lasted me 7 days in the bread drawer. Used soy milk in place of the buttermilk. Just one added ingredient: Dough Enhancer, I highly recommend it for all your GF bread baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: East Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 136) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Traditional White Bread

See how to make traditional sandwich bread.

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States