Gluten-Free White Bread for Bread Machines Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2010
I don't have a bread maker, but made it as one someone here recommended without the bread maker. The load looked nice, and rose really nicely, but it tasted really bad. I ate one slice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2010
This is the first bread I have found that actually tastes good! I was very impressed by the texture. It had a very similar texture to real bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2010
I just made this bread for the first time, and it is so good! I do own a bread machine, but so far, I haven't had much luck making gluten-free breads in it, and I decided it would be simpler to make this bread without the machine. I proofed the yeast with the milk and honey, put the rest of the wet ingredients in my mixer and mixed them, then added the yeast mixture and mixed some more. Instead of the flour mix suggested, I just used Domata Living Flour, which is an all-purpose gluten-free mix that already contains xanthan gum. I add the salt to four cups of the Domata flour, mixed with the wet ingredients until just combined, put it in a 9x5 bread pan, smoothed down the top, and baked at 350 for 50 minutes. It turned out beautifully!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2010
Made this in the bread machine - and it turned out great. I did warm the milk slighty and brought the eggs to room temp. I've been searching for a "normal" gluten'free bread that tastes good for my 13 year old to take for school lunches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2010
This is the 2nd GF recipe I've tried and it is fantastic! It has a nice consistency and it is truly like "real" bread. I didn't have any white rice flour so I used brown, and since we can't do soy flour I used oat bran. I let all of my ingredients come to room temperature before mixing and I did combine the ingredients by hand before putting them into my bread machine as mine does not do a great job of mixing without the help. I followed the recommendation of adding about an extra half cup of potato starch. I also chose to bake it in the oven instead of in the machine. All in all we were extremely pleased with this bread and it will definitely become a staple. I can't wait to try mix ins and variations as some people have mentioned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RAEBRALOP

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2010
Okay, this was my first attempt to making any gluten free bread and my daughter really liked it. I did make some substitutions due to lack of ingredients, and the fact that my daughter can't eat soy. So here are my substitutsions: agave for the honey 1 Tbsp of vinegar in 2 % milk for the buttermilk Teff flour for the soy flour Brown rice flour for the White rice flour I have a setting on my bread machine for gluten free bread and so I used that. It came out a little underdone, so I threw it in a 350 oven for about 15 minutes. Overall we're quite happy. I'm going to reduce the rice flour and add some nut/bean flours instead and try that. =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jules and Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Duryea, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2010
This was my first gluten free bread and I loved it. It doesn't feel so daunting to have to go gluten free with all these amazing recipes. I used tapioca flour in place of soy flour and white wine vinegar plus 1 Tbsp sugar because I can't get Apple Cider Vinegar or soy flour here. I also used rice milk in place of buttermilk. I added 1/4 cup tapioca and 1/4 rice flour for consistency. I'll be using this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Budapest, Pest, Hungary

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2010
I love this bread. My only complaint is that it is really dense, and sometimes seems soggy. It does not freeze well, always too doughy when it is thawed out. I may try popping it in the oven for a few minutes after the bread machine finishes with it and see if that helps. Really good bread with some Nutella!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Cooking Booth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Mustang, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2010
my bread came out a heavy moist bread not at all what i expected. is the wet to dry ratio off. i do not have a gluten free cycle or a sweet cycle on my bread machine. What happened?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2010
This is a forgiving recipe that makes tasty bread! I make it in a breadmaker (on the regular dough setting), scoop it into a greased loaf pan and smooth the top with a wet spatula, put it in a cold oven and let it rise as the oven heats up to 350. I bake it for 45 minutes and it's perfect! We like whole grain bread, so I substitute 1 cup of brown rice flour and add 1/3 - 1/2 cup milled flax seeds. I haven't needed to add any extra flour this way and sometimes add a little more liquid to give it the consistency of a really thick batter. In place of the buttermilk, I've used regular milk, soy milk, or water all with good results, and when out of honey I have used white sugar, brown sugar and/or maple syrup, all with good results as well. Today I used tapioca starch instead of potato with no problem. Hence the "forgiving" nature of the recipe! I've tried a number of other GF bread recipes that have essentially been a waste of ingredients, but this is a good one. My 2 year-old, 3 year-old and husband agree!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 136) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Traditional White Bread

See how to make traditional sandwich bread.

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States