Gluten-Free White Bread for Bread Machines Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2014
This was the very first bread I had ever made. I love this bread. It comes out perfect in my cuisinart bread maker every time. I've made it now about 10 times in a row. My husband keeps trying to get me to branch out and explore some other recipes too. (He loves this bread). I can't seem to move on. This really satisfies my urge for a classic bread. I eat it mainly toasted with butter every day. Used tapioca starch instead of cornstarch Used almond flour instead of soy flour Used coconut milk instead of butter milk Used instant bread machine yeast Pre-warmed liquids Browned top in oven after. Love this bread!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2014
I just bought a Black and Decker bread machine, (first one ever) online at Walmart for approx 11.00. i was just looking to see how much they were and then this one was so cheap, I figured it was a typo and they would catch it when i paid for it; but no i received it for that price and this was the first recipe i tried. The first round did not go so well since I missed a vital ingredient due to my printer not printing one main ingredient and i did not catch it! the 1 1/2 cups of buttermilk! don't know why or how the printer missed this but when I checked the recipe to see if I missed something (liquid, since it was not getting doughy in the machine) the recipe showed online with the buttermilk but not my print out. so I dumped the whole thing and tried again(don't want to do that too often $$). The second time was the charm! What an awesome loaf of bread! it is perfect! I love it! Thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by driv5581

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: South Hadley, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Brimfield, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Yucca13
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
Just substituted Cup for Cup for all flours and xanthan gum = 3 1/3 cups Cup for Cup. Mixed in breadman,transfer to bread pan. rise in warm oven 20 min. transferred to 350 degree oven in greased bread pan for about 25 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TANIS321
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2014
What a fantastic recipe! The things I changed are simply because I didn't have all the required ingredients. I uses 1 cup brown rice flour and 1 cup white rice flour (didn't have enough white), substituted tapioca flour for potato, and since I don't have a bread machine, I plopped it in a bread pan, let it rise once, then baked it at 350 for 40 minutes. Thank you so much for the recipe, it will make this whole gluten free thing a whole lot easier!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2014
This recipe has made me love my new bread maker! I did follow a few of the changes in the comments (added 1/2 tsp baking powder, 1/4 cup each of both kinds of flour) I also used soy milk due to a dairy allergy and it came out great!! I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2014
Excellent taste & texture. One problem can someone explain why the loaf caved in the middle?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2014
I had a hard time giving this one star. Better not to eat bread than try to eat this. Too dense. Terrible taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
Made this bread it was the best gluten free bread I have ever made. I did use 2 packages of yeast and elimated the vinegar. Crusty on the outside soft and flovorful on the inside. Will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
I tried making this recipe to cut down costs of pricey g-free store bread. Ingredients are pricey (xanthan gum was $13) but will make several loaves. This recipe is delish! I love the consistency. It is a very dense, hearty bread. Has just the right amount if sweetness. Gobbled my first loaf, second is in the machine as we speak!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Samantha Doe

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
Wow!! This turned out great, just as well as the whole wheat bread my mom always makes in her bread maker. It had a classic bread texture, the only problem is the taste is something I will try and play around with, though as far as gluten free breads go, it tastes great. After reading the other reviews, I made a few alterations to the recipe using some of their tips and some other tips I've found. Here is what I did: Used 3+5/6 Cup of Bob's Redmill All Purpose Gluten Free Flour instead of all of the flours and starches the recipe called for, (that amount is including the extra 1/2 cup other reviewers said this recipe needed), used a scant 1/4 cup of honey, 1 Tbsp of raw cane sugar, 1 Tbsp of mayonnaise, 1/8 tsp of citric acid (got it at the healthfood store along with the xanthan gum), 1/2 tsp baking powder,and since I didn't have buttermilk, I used 1 C heavy whipping cream with 1/2 tsp lemon juice an 1/2 C of water, though next time I will try 1+1/2 C buttermilk. I used the same amt of eggs, xanthan gum, yeast, salt, olive oil and cider vinegar as called for in the original recipe. I also made sure all of my ingredients were room temperature (just left them out on the counter a couple hours before making. For the bread machine, I selected a large loaf, medium color crust. I cannot wait to make this again and experiment! yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 135) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Traditional White Bread

See how to make traditional sandwich bread.

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States