Gluten Free Red Velvet Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2015
These cupcakes are moist and delicious! I didn't have brown rice flour, so I used millet flour instead. Also, I added a teaspoon of apple cider vinegar to the batter. I didn't have a full oz of red food coloring either...in fact, I had less than 0.5 oz, but the cupcakes still turned out red enough. I believe the vinegar and baking soda react with the cocoa to help produce some of the red color. Thank you for sharing this recipe. I plan to make theses again and again, especially for birthday parties.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Missy Sykes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2015
My birthday is next week and we are having a party this Saturday and a few friends are GF so I'm trying this recipe because I LOVE red velvet! I was wondering if the tapioca starch was part of the flour mixture or if it's a totally separate thing, I am a using an all purpose GF flour mix that I have on hand instead of all of the separate flours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Corissa Cox

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2015
I had gluten free flour, so I used that instead of rice flour, sorghum flour and xantham gum. Also reduced to 1/4 cup of tapioca starch, 1 cup of mayonnaise in place of canola oil and 2 % milk with apple cider vinegar instead of buttermilk. I know, that's a lot of changes but really substitutes for what I had. I make it two layer cake style. It was super moist and the whole family loved it! Topped it with goat cheese frosting. Can you say AWESOME!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2014
Red velvet cake from Salsbury House, a restaurant in Winnipeg, Manitoba Canada is my favorite cake. I am willing to eat gluten to get it. Now I have a recipe that gives me a quality cake that is safe to eat. Made it for thanksgiving dinner and everyone is going to love it. My husband loves it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
Very good cake. My partner has too many allergies to list here, so this recipe is a godsend. I have made it twice now. Both times I substituted Pacific brand rice milk in place of the buttermilk. The first time I made the cake with half canola and half butter; the second time I did it using only refined coconut oil. Both times my results were moist and very fluffy (especially in the case of the coconut oil), which is a delightful surprise considering it's gluten-free, and I'm very impressed with the recipe for this reason. The first time I made it the flavour was not chocolate-y enough for my liking, so the second time I made it I used half a cup of cocoa powder and a dash more oil, which was an improvement. (The next time I make this cake I might play around with some baking chocolate instead of the cocoa, to see if it makes for a deeper chocolate flavour.) I also added orange zest to the batter the second time, which was very delicious. For frosting I used a mixture of coconut oil, strained fresh-squeezed orange juice, and confectioner's sugar. A nice complement to a nice cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
I took another's suggestion and made this easier by using 2 1/2 cups Pamela's Gluten Free All Purpose flour (can be found on Amazon.com for 11.37 for 4 lbs). I did not make the paste, but added the food coloring directly into the wet ingredients with my mixer on low. (From another non gluten free recipe I use to make red velvet cake). Once I was done mixing the wet ingredients I took the mixing bowl off my kitchen aid and hand mixed the dry ingredients / butter milk with a whisk. I found the first time I tried a different recipe with the Gluten Free Flour that it gummed up and was EXTREMELY thick, but mixing by hand it did not get TOO thick and made BEAUTIFUL cupcakes. Also I just used what applesauce I had on hand, which had sugar added, but it's what I had. My hubby has gone back for several cupcakes and I hadn't even put frosting on the them ;) Can't wait to make them again for the baby shower I'm hosting for a Gluten Free friend!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Garland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2014
I found this recipe today and immediately made them with my 10 year old daughter. I am always the skeptic with gluten-free recipes, they are normally hit and miss but this one is a keeper! This recipe was easy to make and turned out moist, not crumbly or chalky. I baked them into cupcakes and used cupcake liners. The batter is thick, as other reviewers had mentioned but I had no problems with it. I used a large cookie scoop to scoop it into the cupcake well. When baking in 9" cake pans, I will just use a spatula to spread the batter evenly. I will add this to my file of best-loved gluten free recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2014
These are very good but I ALWAYS use organic extra virgin olive oil in baking, I cannot taste the olive oil in baked goods. I keep the oven at 325 degrees for all baked goods. I used half the sugar and added a little stevia powder. I stirred a small chunk of cooked beet into the batter for color, then removed it instead of using food coloring. With these changes I felt good about serving these. Next time I'm going to try all purpose gluten free flour to save time... and experiment with a portion being coconut flour. Thanks for the recipe, we love red velvet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kelly Newport
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
I made these for a celiac coworker. The batter tasted HORRIBLE but I went ahead and baked them anyway and they turned out fantastic. The chalky taste and texture baked right out. The celiac gobbled them up, and even the gluten loving coworkers enjoyed them. I thought the batter wasn't quite sweet enough, but no one else seemed to notice. Great recipe! Thanks for sharing, ktonks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly Newport
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
I made a dozen of these for my church's bake sale table at the holiday bazaar this weekend, and they were gobbled up in less than an hour! At least a half dozen people asked for the recipe. Nobody could believe they were gluten free! I made two small substitutions: I used safflower oil instead of canola oil, and I only had a cup of white sugar in my cupboard so one-half cup of the 1-1/2 cups of sugar was brown sugar. Otherwise, I followed the recipe as given. I will definitely be making this again in the near future!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Van Nuys, California, USA
Living In: Kennewick, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Gluten-Free Red Velvet Cake

A wheat-free red velvet cake with soft texture and yummy chocolate flavor.

Garbanzo Bean Chocolate Cake (Gluten Free)

See how to make a tasty flourless chocolate cake that’s high protein.

Red Velvet Cake I

See how to make a delicious and beautiful layered cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States