Gluten-Free Pie Crust with LIBBY'S® Famous Pumpkin Pie Filling Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
Holly by jesus I did it.. Finally a pie crust that works. Of course I made my tweaks here and there, and it turned out fabulously. For all you non believers out there that think gluten free does not taste good, well you might want to take a double look... Instead of using rice flour and potato starch, I used my own little concoction. Per 1 cup I use 75% oat flour and 25% white rice flour. The oat flour gives it a nutty flavor, a little more hole some taste. The rest of the recipe I kept the same, but you definetly don't need to use 3 tbsp of water. The oat flour keeps it very moist... Of course we all have discovered that pie crust being gluten free is very difficult to roll out... Well with using the ingredients I have substituted fear no more fellow bakers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
I made this for Thanksgiving this year and my family LOVED it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
I used this pie crust for turkey pot pie and it worked out great. I brushed the top with beaten egg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
This Pumpkin Pie recipe was delicious, my whole family loved it. My Dad was shocked the pie crust was gluten free. = ) Taste like the real thing. The only change I made in the recipe is adding 3 Tbs of brown sugar with the flours (white rice flour, potato starch, tapioca flour). The crust was not crumbly at all, I believe the molasses in the brown sugar might help everything stick together. Oh and the brown sugar adds a hint of sweetness! Very Yummy.. can't wait to make Blue Berry Pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
Just a thought, perhaps the people who gave very low reviews used potato flour instead of potato starch flour? They are very different products and have a very different texture and taste (potato flour is extremely heavy, it is processed from the whole potato, not nice for baking). Very nice pastry, but as usual I needed more water to make it form a ball. The wax paper trick is great, but I used parchment paper with a better result the 2nd time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2011
We all had a good laugh tonight ... the crust was nearly impossible to cut. My good-natured hubby said it was like hard tack. I'll go back to my stand-by GF pie crust recipe that's indistinguishable from regular crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2011
A bit dry, but its a great alternative for the gluten free individuals in our family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lakeport, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
I didn't make the pie, but used the crust for strawberry pie and chicken pot pie. I recommend brushing with egg white before baking for a more golden flakey crust. It was a hit at our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jeanjacketmama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Farwell, Michigan, USA
Living In: Eva, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2010
I have never written a one-star review before, but I did not care for this recipe. I had a very hard time getting this crust to hold together. I followed the recipe exactly, but it was still very crumbly. I ended up just pressing it around the pan like I would a graham cracker crust. And the flavor was just as bad as the texture. It definitely had that potato-ish "gluten-free" taste. In the end, my husband, who can't have gluten, ate the filling off the crust
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2010
Not bad, not bad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States