Gluten-free Mexican Wedding Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
The cookies melted into a puddle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2008
This recipe just doesn't work. We had to add an egg just to get the whole thing to stick together a bit. Do yourself a favor and skip this recipe... use a GF flour mix and substitute it cup for cup in a regular mexican wedding cake recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2008
Even after chilling the dough as I would for regular Mexican Wedding Cake cookies, I still ended up with a finished cookie that looked more like a very flat crisp than a Mexican Wedding Cake. I did manage to save the remainder of the dough & turn it into a fairly good cookie that was close to the original Mexican Wedding cake with some changes. I will submit the recipe for others to try if they would like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Coos Bay, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2006
This recipe was a total flop. The cookies melted into one big mess. I would think twice before making this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2006
your cake is the BEST!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2005
I tried this recipe and somthing is missing it was dry and crumbley like something you would use on a apple crisp
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2004
quite disappointing..before becoming gluten intolerant i have eaten these cookies made w/ all purpose flour. i know enough not to be too hopeful of the results for substituting flours. some work and some don't. this didn't! the cookies melted into one large sheet of pastry. perhaps chilling the dough before hand might have worked! the ingredients call for 2 C chopped hazelnuts, 2 C chopped walnuts or hazelnuts (quite a large amount of nuts). the directions call to add the ground hazelnuts and the chopped hazelnuts........what ground nuts? this recipe was a dismal failure. if i can resurrect another from experimentation i will forward to you. this is Christmas week and there are several gluten intolerant family members for whom this was to be a treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2003
Hi, Can you please tell me if the measurement for the vanilla is correct in this recipe? Thanks, Celeste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Gluten-Free Fudge Brownies

See how to make 5-star flour-free fudge brownies.

Gluten-Free Peanut Butter Cookies

These 5-star cookies have big peanutty taste and zero gluten.

Russian Tea Cakes I

See how to make traditional Russian tea cakes rolled in confectioner's sugar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States