(Gluten Free) Magic Cookie Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
I made these for a friend with celiac disease and those with no gluten problems also loved these very rich cookies. The only change I made was using heaping 3/4 cups of brown and white sugar I sent them to my husband's weekly staff meeting. They were an instant hit and high on the request list after 2 years. Don't bake without parchment paper or foil coming up the sides of the pan. The batter is very sticky and the pan is very hard to clean.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2014
Yummy!! I brought this (with a couple of changes) to a dinner party and everyone enjoyed it! Since another reviewer mentioned excessive sweetness and strong peanut butter flavor, I decided to try using half sunbutter (sunflower seed spread) and half peanut butter--was not too exact on measuring. I also used about 1 1/2 cups total sugar--half brown sugar, half white. I would definitely make this again!! This is delicious whether you need to eat gluten-free or not. Also, I imagine you could use all sunbutter (instead of peanut butter) for those with peanut allergies. Thanks for the idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
I make these for My Brother in Law who is Gluten Free. You can "tweak" the recipe and add tons of different kinds of nuts and chocolate candies and carmel on top. I switch it up all the time. Works best with parchment paper in the bottom of the pan. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jewels

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northridge, California, USA
Living In: Valencia, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2014
These were indeed rich tasting but a big hit at the party tonight. My niece is gluten free and was so glad she had a safe dessert to snack. The rest of the family thought the bars were "delicious" and ate them as well. I needed to bake them an additional 6 minutes though. And the bars came out perfect. I didn't have any parchment paper, so I used a cooking spray specifically for baking. I sliced the bars after approximately 40 minutes of cooling. Then I let them cool thoroughly before serving. The cookie bars came out easily and with little effort. Thank you for a great recipe. I will be making these often for a special niece.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
Oh my goodness...these are delicious! I had some all natural almond butter that I needed to use up, so I used 1 cup almond butter and 1 cup creamy peanut butter. The rest I did exactly what the recipe said. They are very rich and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2014
Wow! Amazing! Dessert can be delicious without the gluten! I subbed 1/2 the peanut butter with almond butter for the cookie and cooked it 13 minutes instead of 8. I also used 1/2 brown sugar and 1/2 white sugar. Because several others had mentioned it was sticky, I spread butter in the bottom of my stoneware jelly pan and no problems. This was my first try at gluten free and it was a success! I made these for a friend who is gluten free, but my son ended up eating half of them! Thank you, Jewel! I will make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2014
It didn't cook all the way and was really soupy. Good taste but was not firm enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by stephercee
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
I absolutely appreciate that someone took the time to find a gluten-free alternative crust to these bars. Thank you for offering an idea I would never have thought of on my own! After having made them, I believe that the peanut butter cookie base makes the squares far far too sweet and rich, and the peanut taste totally overpowers the rest of the nuts in the bars. At least for my tastes, anyway. My husband and his dad liked them, but they could only eat one square at a sitting. My oven sucks, so I only realized later that the cookie base didn't cook/set as much as I would have liked. I would recommend longer than 8 minutes, and at a higher temp to at least set the PB. **It was easy to make and prep.** If you don't normally have these ingredients in your cupboard, you can save money by only buying the amount you need in the bulk section of your grocery store. I am going to try to find a gluten-free crust that is more like the original base I knew and loved when I ate gluten. Something less overpowering than the peanut butter. All in all, nice to be able to make something to take to holiday parties that was gluten-free, but not many people ate them, and no one took a second.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Garbanzo Bean Chocolate Cake (Gluten Free)

See how to make a tasty flourless chocolate cake that’s high protein.

St. Patrick's Chocolate & Mint Cheesecake Bars

Green minty cheesecake brownies are festive for St. Patrick’s Day.

Blueberry Crumb Bars

See how to make simple, scrumptious blueberry bar cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States