(Gluten Free) Magic Cookie Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by stephercee
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
I absolutely appreciate that someone took the time to find a gluten-free alternative crust to these bars. Thank you for offering an idea I would never have thought of on my own! After having made them, I believe that the peanut butter cookie base makes the squares far far too sweet and rich, and the peanut taste totally overpowers the rest of the nuts in the bars. At least for my tastes, anyway. My husband and his dad liked them, but they could only eat one square at a sitting. My oven sucks, so I only realized later that the cookie base didn't cook/set as much as I would have liked. I would recommend longer than 8 minutes, and at a higher temp to at least set the PB. **It was easy to make and prep.** If you don't normally have these ingredients in your cupboard, you can save money by only buying the amount you need in the bulk section of your grocery store. I am going to try to find a gluten-free crust that is more like the original base I knew and loved when I ate gluten. Something less overpowering than the peanut butter. All in all, nice to be able to make something to take to holiday parties that was gluten-free, but not many people ate them, and no one took a second.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
I make these for My Brother in Law who is Gluten Free. You can "tweak" the recipe and add tons of different kinds of nuts and chocolate candies and carmel on top. I switch it up all the time. Works best with parchment paper in the bottom of the pan. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jewels

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northridge, California, USA
Living In: Valencia, California, USA
Reviewed: May 13, 2014
Wow! Amazing! Dessert can be delicious without the gluten! I subbed 1/2 the peanut butter with almond butter for the cookie and cooked it 13 minutes instead of 8. I also used 1/2 brown sugar and 1/2 white sugar. Because several others had mentioned it was sticky, I spread butter in the bottom of my stoneware jelly pan and no problems. This was my first try at gluten free and it was a success! I made these for a friend who is gluten free, but my son ended up eating half of them! Thank you, Jewel! I will make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
Oh my goodness...these are delicious! I had some all natural almond butter that I needed to use up, so I used 1 cup almond butter and 1 cup creamy peanut butter. The rest I did exactly what the recipe said. They are very rich and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2014
Yummy!! I brought this (with a couple of changes) to a dinner party and everyone enjoyed it! Since another reviewer mentioned excessive sweetness and strong peanut butter flavor, I decided to try using half sunbutter (sunflower seed spread) and half peanut butter--was not too exact on measuring. I also used about 1 1/2 cups total sugar--half brown sugar, half white. I would definitely make this again!! This is delicious whether you need to eat gluten-free or not. Also, I imagine you could use all sunbutter (instead of peanut butter) for those with peanut allergies. Thanks for the idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2014
These were indeed rich tasting but a big hit at the party tonight. My niece is gluten free and was so glad she had a safe dessert to snack. The rest of the family thought the bars were "delicious" and ate them as well. I needed to bake them an additional 6 minutes though. And the bars came out perfect. I didn't have any parchment paper, so I used a cooking spray specifically for baking. I sliced the bars after approximately 40 minutes of cooling. Then I let them cool thoroughly before serving. The cookie bars came out easily and with little effort. Thank you for a great recipe. I will be making these often for a special niece.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2015
Love love love this!!!! After reviewing comments about it being too sweet, I only added a cup and a half of sugar and the crust was fabulous! My company loved it and had second and third helpings! I only added chocolate chips and pecans just keeping it simple. But I could see adding even butterscotch chips for a nice blend with the peanut butter crust. Thanks for this recipe because the magic bars are one of my all-time favorite desserts and haven't had them since I went gluten-free
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2015
Delicious and gooey. I forgot to bake the base first so baked it for 40 min and it still turned out great. Will be a family favorite
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2015
I followed recipe exactly and my daughter loved it so much she NEVER wants me to make it again! She couldn't stay out of it!! I am so glad to have found a gf dessert she enjoyed so much! The parchment paper covered the bottom and sides and there was no food stuck in pan. It was firm enough to cut into bars!Thank you Jewels!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2015
This is very good made with half almond butter also. As I am sensitive to chemicals I used 2 T raw honey instead of bleached white sugar ( brown sugar is molasses and white sugar) and added 1 tsp of vanilla extract and a layer of almond meal. I like the honey better and the vanilla adds another delicious taste depth to this very delectable dish. One can indeed tweak this recipe and it still is very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cherry Downs

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

(Gluten Free) Magic Cookie Bars

Watch how to make these sweet gluten-free dessert bars.

Garbanzo Bean Chocolate Cake (Gluten Free)

See how to make a tasty flourless chocolate cake that’s high protein.

St. Patrick's Chocolate & Mint Cheesecake Bars

Green minty cheesecake brownies are festive for St. Patrick’s Day.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States