Gluten-Free Irish Soda Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2015
I made it today and it came out wonderful! Loved it! I only added a tablespoon of apple vinegar and about 1/4 cup crushed cashew. Fluffy and delicious! Thanks so much for this wonderful recipe! I was amazed that it didn't need any type of oil? Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jandira
Living In: Belo Horizonte, Minas Gerais, Brazil

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2014
Great recipe! I added some currants. My GF daughter really enjoyed this bread with honey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
I made this for my son- he loved it! Only used 2 Tbsp sugar and it was plenty sweet. Also baked for 45 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
Family full of Celiacs, this was a hit!!!! Did have to cut bake time by 20 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2013
For Gluten free Bread it is very good, the texture is more like cornbread and a little sweet but tastes great. We cooked it in a cast iron skillet and it only took 35 minutes. I have never heard of Irish Soda Bread being used as a sandwich bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
Easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deanna McGuire

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
This is nothing like Irish soda bread except for the color...mostly. The consistency is gummy due to a large amount of tapioca flour in the mix. The other reviewers were correct on the bake time...30 min is plenty. If I wanted to try and fix this I would have to play around with the flour mix to reduce or eliminate the tapioca to get a reasonable consistency. For you GF people out there...you don't need to settle for this kind of so-called bread. Much much better exists.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
Despite an extra 1/2 hour of baking, the middle remained gooey...the bread seemed like it didn't rise sufficiently. It could be because I used Egg Replacer, but I've had good luck using it in the past with other recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
Very good and easy! Added 1/2 cup currants that I plumped in hot water. Pat dry and whisk into dry ingredients before adding wet. Baking time is only @ 35-40 mins! Do not bake for the 65 mins as recipe calls for or will be charcoal. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Mateo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2013
I also thought it was done in about 30 minutes--toothpick came out dry and golden brown, but inside it was still very sticky and hard to eat. Am trying putting it back into the oven for more baking, but I don't know if it will work. Will let you know.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

Irresistible Irish Soda Bread

This soda bread is dense and moist, thanks to the tangy addition of buttermilk.

Gluten-Free Banana Bread

See how to make a kid-approved banana bread with gluten-free flour.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States