Gluten-Free Irish Soda Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2007
This recipe is fabulous. It was easy to make and tastes awesome. You wouldn't even know it was gluten free. The only weird thing is that I took it out 20 minutes earlier than what the recipe called for because it was done. I was also cooking cookies at the same time, but I don't think that would have made that much of a difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washougal, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2007
This recipe was tasty but the bread cooks much faster than amount of time written in recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2007
This was yummy. I love that you don't need zantham gum for this recipe. I was out of white rice flour so I substituted brown rice flour. Also, I had left over half-and-half so I added a tablespoon of vinegar to that and a little sour cream to make up the difference in the cup of buttermilk. This recipe did take 20 minutes less to bake but I don't think that is a negative. The outcome was delicious, it was bread! The brown rice gave it a fun darker color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2007
This recipe is wonderful. I am allergic to wheat and milk and so I just addapted the buttermilk to rice milk with 1 T vinegar. Most of the bread recipes that I have tried have turned out crumbly, but amazingly, this one is very nice and chewy. This will defenantly go in my recipe book! Like others have said, it needs to be about a total of 35 to 40 minutes cook time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
121 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2008
Very good recipe! I think it tastes a lot more like a cornbread style bread than soda bread, but still very, very tasty! I was out of whit rice flour so I used brown, and plain yogurt for buttermilk (I use this substitution all the time). I think next time I'll cut back the sugar to 1/3 or 1/4 c.,.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2008
Great Recipe! I found it a little sweet so would probably cut out a bit of sugar. I also made it dairy free by using soured soy milk of eqaul quantity. Turned out very well. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Irene

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2008
I have made this bread 2 times. I took the advice to cut down the cooking time to 30 min. both times. Both times the bottom was burnt, and top wasn't. This is not a problem with my oven. It had a strange taste, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2008
This recipe was very dry once it cooled down. It needed some other kind of spice, I may have added sugar as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ENSOLETTE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tallmadge, Ohio, USA
Living In: Evanston, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2008
This is very, very good. It's a little sweet, but that's okay with us. The bake time is way off, though. I have a convection oven which reduces the baking time, but it still took only 25 minutes. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Canton, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Rapid City, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
I had high hopes for this bread after reading the reviews. In reality this bread is only so-so. It has the texture and moisture content of cornbread, but the taste of plain white bread. It would be fine for dipping in a soup, or making garlic toast from. It is not the soft bread for making sandwiches so many of us long for. Next I will try some of the other gluten-free bread recipes on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

Irresistible Irish Soda Bread

This soda bread is dense and moist, thanks to the tangy addition of buttermilk.

Gluten-Free Banana Bread

See how to make a kid-approved banana bread with gluten-free flour.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States