Gluten Free Ginger-Honey Crunch Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by mis7up
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
This was awesomely fantastic. I was soo skeptical about the ginger but after it baked and cool...I was forever snacking on it. Quite tasty. Do make sure you get a good quality banana chips. However, I didn't and was a chewy puffy weirdness. Made a 2nd batch after getting a different brand of banana chips....perfect. Will make again and I was able to use a sugar free honey alternative and SPLENDA(R) Brown Sugar to also reduce the sugar content...and it was still sweet and fabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA
Photo by LYNNINMA
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2011
Great combination of flavors. For the sake of experimentation, I used 1 1/2 tsp. ground ginger and 1/2 tsp. freshly ground cardamom. Because I had them on hand and thought they would work well with the mix, I also added dried pineapple, papaya and chopped dates (3/4 cup total dried fruit). The result was fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNNINMA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Leicester, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2011
I used light margarine, ginger, all Rice Chex, slightly less than 1 C of coconut (thought about eliminating it altogether, but glad that I didn't), and 1/2 C each of dried cranberries and dried pineapple. Thinking about adding slightly less almonds the next time I make it. It has a very good Asian flavor. I made it for a road trip, and everyone that I shared it with loved it, too...it's one of my favorite recipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2010
It was ok and easy to make but thought it was just way too sweet. I even used the Rice Chex and not the Honey Nut Chex. I thought it would have a more subtle flavor. Worth trying but I would not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2010
Made this for a big boating weekend. Used half ginger and half cardamon with good success. Put in dried bananas, dried pineapple, minced candied ginger, almonds, and dark chocolate bits (when cooled) Only about half the people liked it... most dissenters disliked the bananas for some reason. I thought it was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gig Harbor, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2010
Excellent! I used Cinnamon Chex and it tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
Fantastic and super easy! I made this pretty much as is but with unsweetened cranberries, less almonds and a little more coconut. I added the cranberries with everything else and it worked out fine. I used 1 teaspoon of ginger and 1/2 teaspoons of cardamom. Very tasty. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bsuever

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2010
Excellent! Guests loved it. I made it exactly as shown, using a Generic Honey Chex-Type Cereal. However, you might want to divide and put the dried cranberries in only half of the mixture when all the baking is done. I didn't care for them, and they take away from the "crunch" of the rest of the mix. And when all the crunch was gone, there were quite a few dried cranberries left. Definitely leave the dried banana chips, though. They add the right flavoring and still keep crunchy. Other reviewers are right, it is a little hard to mix, but nothing to worry about. By the time everything was done, it was all mixed together just fine. I'm making again today (minus the dried cranberries)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
Very yummy! Hard to evenly distribute the brown sugar mixture- some chex ended up with clumps on them. Stirring while in the oven did help more evenly distribute than stirring before baking did, however. Regardless, the taste was fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hayley E

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairport, New York, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2009
I came up with this recipe in an ingredient search for items I found on sale at my local Grocery Outlet. I used off brand Rice Chex for this recipe and used half ginger, half cardamom. Almost everything I used in this recipe was found at Grocery Outlet and this was quite cheap to make. My oldest and I made this together, which was a fun project for the both of us. Not too difficult, either. My kids and I really enjoyed this, especially my youngest. This one would be a great holiday recipe to make to munch on or for a movie night at home to share with the family, which is what we did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States