Gluten Free Danish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2015
My dad is new to gluten sensitivity. Added 1 egg and used half and half instead of milk. Added extra dry mix to compensate for egg. Used homemade apple filing and lemon filing, both were great. Pastry is cakey but good with the fillings. And could be customized to your tastes. Great starter recipe for gf!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2015
It tasted like a biscuit with jam and icing. Even with good gluten free pancake mix, it was still a bit dry. I made some with jam, some with lemon curd, and some with gluten free apple pie filling. I was hoping to take these for a baby shower brunch where the hostess can't eat gluten, but not sure they're going to make the cut. thankfully, I have a backup to take. I'll see if these get any better after sitting overnight in a tupperware. I saw another reviewer saying that helped them be moister.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GimmeDelicious
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2015
Okay, this was AMAZING!!! So delicious and so easy, one heck of a combo! Soft, moist, simple and homey. Perfect on a cold day with a warm drink. I made a blueberry cheese kind using homemade blueberry jam and the cream cheese filling by Pokey Turtle that other reviewers mentioned, sooo yummy and perfect compliment to this pastry. I used Maple Grove Farms pancake mix, half and half instead of milk (to add more moisture to avoid the chalkyness other reviewers talk about), Cabot unsalted butter, vanilla extract instead of almond since I don't care for almond extract and I added an egg and a tblsp of apple cider vinegar for a fluffier pastry . All in all, the flavor was smooth and creamy, rich and lightly sweet. Not a traditional danish, but delicious nonetheless. Thank you so much Melissa for a wonderful and fast recipe and thank you so much all those who reviewed and left helpful tips! It's so nice when those with food allergies help each other make delicious food. We can avoid gluten and still eat well, this recipe proves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GimmeDelicious

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
I have made these a few times and found these tips helpful. (1) use GF bisquick for a smoother, less grainy consistency (2) substitute heavy cream or half and half for the milk to make them more moist (3) let them sit in an air tight container overnight. That makes them even more moist. I brought these to a holiday party as the GF baked dish and everyone gobbled them up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
Way too dry and blah. She needs to specify a brand of pancake mix. Very disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2014
my gluten-free husband liked them a lot - added way more milk to the mixture to make it "sticky". Experimented with different fillings: peach/mango preserves, blackberry, poppy seed filling. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2014
I thought these were pretty good and easy to make. I will try them again with a different brand of mix to see if they turn out less crumbly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2014
This recipe was so good! I used a cream cheese filling and I thought they were wonderful. However, these were not so much a Danish as they were a buiscit or a cookie. But the flavor was great and the texture was nice (not chalky at all-I used the King Arthur pancake mix), I will definitely use this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2014
I made these today, and found them to be delicious! More like a scone, but with more flavor. I used raspberry jelly and apricot preserves as the fruit filling. Also, I used Pamela's GF pancake mix. Nice texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2014
this recipe looks good but alot of gluten free taste good,but taste bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Mint Hill, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

(Gluten Free) Magic Cookie Bars

Watch how to make these sweet gluten-free dessert bars.

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Grain Free Banana Bread

Discover the secret ingredient to a gluten- and grain-free banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States